Missionary Sadie… Two Shoes Tuesday

Josie at Two Shoes in Texas, is once again hosting Two Shoes Tuesday! This week’s prompts were either ‘fast’ or ‘smile.’


Missionary Sadie

Missionary Sadie left for the reason
to save cannibal souls from high treason.
She found herself frightened
and her caution was heightened,
because it was their holiday season.

And the rumor was they’re more liable
to dine on one with a Bible.
if she were inept
and made a misstep,
she’d be invited to lunch, undeniable.

So she taught them that life everlasting
would come to them just for the asking,
if they’d not consume others,
and if she had her druthers
they’d devote to a life full of fasting.  z~

 

25 comments on “Missionary Sadie… Two Shoes Tuesday

  1. Oh, I love this! Thank goodnes I had something to laugh at after reading the latest on Considerings.

    Like

  2. Shamu Boo says:

    It sounds like an Irish drinking song which, of course, is a high compliment.

    Like

  3. zoe says:

    Got sucked in by Lizzi did ya? That fiction warning is a killer…it would be ok if she werent so damn believable….great writer there!

    Like

  4. zoe says:

    Im afraid these come far too easily to me…which says a lot about my ability to throw down during a drinking song…empty leg syndrome…

    Like

  5. Hey, Zoe! This is really cute! ;o)

    Like

  6. psychochef says:

    This cracked me up! When I saw the title, I thought it was going to a poem about unadventurous sex (which probably would have also cracked me up).

    Like

  7. Totally delightful and very clever use of the prompt “fast”! I never even thought of that! You are so very good at this, I was smiling all the way, and that's the other prompt for Two Shoes Tuesday this week! Thank you Zoe! 🙂

    Like

  8. zoe says:

    Thanks Abelle!

    Like

  9. zoe says:

    I thought about that too…especially since the prompt was “fast.”

    Like

  10. zoe says:

    Awwww. Thank you Josie…I haven't had time to check out the others yet I'll have to do it tonight.

    Like

  11. oldegg says:

    This was so much fun. What was so good for me was to learn a completely new word and that was “druthers” meaning choice or preference which I think must be of US origin and is not used in Australia.

    Like

  12. Considerer says:

    Oi! LOL! I had a happy ending!

    This was FUNNY though – kudos to you Zoe 😉

    Like

  13. Zoe Byrd says:

    but not before you squeezed the emotional stuffing outta everybody first! Nicely done BTW! I was reading it on my phone and couldn't leave a comment!

    Like

  14. Considerer says:

    No. I increasingly discover that phones and Blogger don't mix. Which is a pain in the ass.

    Glad you liked it though 🙂

    Like

  15. Zoe Byrd says:

    I bet you have an even more interesting word for it there! I always think of Australia as fairly colorful in terms of language! In terms of everything for that matter!

    Like

  16. Zoe Byrd says:

    yeah that phone has inadvertently turned me into a lurker!

    Like

  17. Jim says:

    Nice set of limericks, Zoe. Limericks are fun to write, these are great. Somehow I figured that Sadie would end up in a big cooking pot surrounded by the cannibals. Wrong, she got them 'converted'!
    ..

    Like

  18. jabblog says:

    Oh, this is wonderful – a much-needed smile this morning:-)

    Like

  19. Zoe Byrd says:

    Thank You Sir…High praise from you indeed… saw your limerick today!

    Like

  20. Zoe Byrd says:

    Happy to accommodate!

    Like

  21. Jean says:

    I am late in commenting on this tasty rhyme
    I am glad to come here any time!
    love, jean xox@!!

    Like

  22. Zoe Byrd says:

    Pat!? Is that you? OMG I think Jean caught what you have!

    Like

  23. That reminds me of the story Eaters of The Dead! Great parable! : )

    Like

  24. McGuffy Ann says:

    That was both creative and unique.

    Like

  25. Jean says:

    hahahaha!!! that is very funny. I don't think I am all that…not as cool as Pat Hatt!

    xox jean

    Like

Well?