Ophelia

ophelia

 

Where Ophelia walks

flowers bloom

dripping crimson tears

that stain the bottoms of her feet,

 

and where Ophelia lies

there the water salts the earth

so green grass and tall trees

lay themselves down to sleep.

 

Where Ophelia rests

there does Gertrude sit

in hopes to lose her demons in penance

as the grey clouds weep.

8 comments on “Ophelia

  1. Lizzi says:

    I feel like I’m not educated enough to appreciate the subtlety and depth of this, but it’s very beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sweetness, if you are not educated enough to understand it, then I’m not educated enough to write it. As far as I’m concerned, if you’ve read or watched Hamlet then you’ve got the understanding. I’m sure there are depths and subtleties that I didn’t even know I was writing about. You can blame it on The Lumineers new song though. Apparently it was inspiring.
      However, I’m not even sure how I ended up in Gertrude’s headspace but there it is. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lizzi says:

        Ah. I haven’t. That explains it all 😀 I’m FAR less educated than you think I am 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • And more so than YOU think. The level of education a person receives is not a true measure of a person’s intelligence. There’s far more to it than that. My mother received up to a freshman level of education yet she is wickedly intelligent. And you, you probably understand more than you think and you certainly feel there’s more here than what’s in front of your eyes. Emotional intelligence is just as important in poetry as intellectual intelligence. And half the time, I feel very stupid in front of many people. I may not always follow the gist of conversation, but I do understand the emotional temperature. Something to be said for that. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

Well?

