#OctPoWriMo Day 5: Sharp

scissors

Angry girl,

why do you run with scissors on your tongue?

One fall

and down comes all.

 

Angry girl,

Sharp words enemies make to rake

you over the coals.

Release those goals.

 

Angry girl,

Acid words cut like swords.

Forgive, and let go your pain.

Be cleansed and smile again.

 

Angry girl,

Why do you run with scissors on your tongue?

One fall,

and down comes all.

 

*Really have no idea the inspiration for this one. Thinking about sharp things and sharp words so arguments came to mind and I began writing. Along the way the idea came to me about how whenever we’re angry we say things to wound, or we might walk away and do something dangerous or that can hurt someone or ourselves. I’ve heard people laugh and make jokes about running with scissors but it’s never funny when the thing you least expect actually happens. In fact, it’s sort of breath-taking and shocking, even though you were warned. I titled this one Pointed Words-a little tongue in cheek there.

5 comments on “#OctPoWriMo Day 5: Sharp

  1. bobcabkings says:

    Following (not reading all, there are far too many) comments on another blog on a political subject, I see many such angry, sharp words aimed to wound…so sad. This is so true.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, sir. I try my best to keep my words under control when I’m angry but sometimes they slip out. The worst ones are the ones who don’t care if they wound or not. They’re specifically designed to incite remarks in kind, which is why I stay out of politics. I don’t need that kind of negativity in my life right now.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bobcabkings says:

    Reblogged this on cabbagesandkings524 and commented:
    Sharp words wound both hearer and speaker.

    Like

  3. Gayatri says:

    Really liked the poem. Sharing on my blog.

    Like

Well?

