Burden

Burden - welltemperedbards.wordpress.com

O, how much I burden thee
For in unburdening my mind
The weight and wash of wasted self
In part, must needs becometh thine

Quiet thou, and I shall take the hint
At last; unwilling to concede
That which is quite plain to see
You might be, must be, somehow freed

For what am I, that you e’er should
Squander time and life and care?
Fie and fie, and shame on me, 
For thou already hast thy share

But I should yield to this although
In truth, I am not yielding well
I can no longer see a way
To make a heaven of this hell

Destiny was not foretold
And fate declined to e’er relate
If dreams could ever come to pass
Or love could ever grow from hate

Yet with patience, I must bear
Oblivion must, for later, wait
For how could I yet more inflict
With ending so intemperate?

And so I bid you no farewells
You cannot hope for sweet goodbyes
For I remain, a canker, til
Time affords you freedom’s prize

So I’ll content with poetry
My heart ill-masked in careless rhyme
#LoveWins, of that you’ll be assured
It might; but that love isn’t mine.

4 comments on “Burden

  1. bobcabkings says:

    So sad a poem to which I can only say,
    So many hands reach out
    So to make light for each
    Such a a burden as that.

    #LoveWins, yes it does.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bobcabkings says:

    Reblogged this on cabbagesandkings524 and commented:
    A welcome burden despite the sadness.

    Like

  3. Vince says:

    It’s a funny thing, but often it’s when I am most burdened by my own shit that I most welcome the opportunity to focus on someone else’s. So actually, now is a great time to talk to me and offload a bit if you want to. X

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

