Late Night Futility

Late Night Futility - welltemperedbards.wordpress.com

Corners folding over
Darkness sliding down
I’m ink-fading
Paper-quaking
A blackberry-hearted
Fingerpricked failing.
Sometimes sweet enough
To stain your lips
And sometimes
Purple-centred,
Offering maggot-laden kiss.
Toes up!
Leave me ’til Michaelmas
And let the devil take me:
The world keeps turning
Night to day to night
With brambled yearning
Full of wordy thorns
And thorny words wrapt tight
I’ll bind my thoughts.
I won’t be yours.

16 comments on “Late Night Futility

  1. bobcabkings says:

    FIRST!!!!!! 🙂 – It is a bit dark and obscure making for a lovely sort of moodiness.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bobcabkings says:

    Reblogged this on cabbagesandkings524 and commented:
    A Lizzi poem – as the title says

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your words, like I feel them resonate on my tongue, love them. ❤ This is lovely. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope that dark cloud has lifted and you are seeing more light, Honeybee! xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice verse.. please do follow my blog to read my poems..

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

