Poetry for Peace

I found out about this fabulous initiative – Poets for Peace – through the 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion group on Facebook, and it looks like a glorious collaboration, which I’d like to be part of. So I’ve put my poet’s thinking-cap on, and I’m staring at a blank page to see what falls out onto it…and if it’s good enough (for me), I’ll join it in.

(To be fair, if it’s not good enough for me, you won’t see it either, but I still want to promote the collaboration and share the word with others who might be interested in adding their words to the project.)

PoetsForPeace

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Somewhere over the rainbow
Storm clouds rise
False words urge us to hatred
Tangling us in their lies

Somewhere over the rainbow
Missiles fly
Crashing down in destruction
How many more must die?

Each day we wish upon a star
We hope and dream and pray for peace to find us
For hate and war to fade away
For lives lived fuller every day
For something we trust

Somewhere over the rainbow voices cry
Pleading peace and compassion,
One and all – can’t we try?

We’ll see lives left serene; our world rescued
We’ll find harmony together; our bonds renewed
And we’ll think to ourselves
What a wonderful world

I hear voices for peace
Raised to unite
Like me, they
Want to conquer this fight
And I think to myself
We’re a wonderful world

Somewhere
Over the rainbow
…there’s a wonderful world ❤

With a nod of thanks to Izrael Kamakawiwo’ole

((It felt good enough 😉 ))

29 comments on “Poetry for Peace

  1. Now that Frist is out of the way…ahem…There are days when I read what you write and I wish I could write half as well. Today is NOT one of those days because I know that today that doesn’t matter. Today what matters is every voice being heard. Today what matters is voices joining together to show what we all think really matters…peace, love, hope, love, and, more love.
    This is so beautiful, Sweetness. Truly. And I can’t help hearing Louis’ voice in my head…What a wonderful world.
    It will be. Someday. And our little ripples will have helped make a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lizzi says:

      Today, sweet Pinky, I was inspired by your swiftness in responding to the challenge, and felt like I most definitely wanted to put my money where my mouth is, and be part of something bigger, which aims to do GOOD!

      I love that we’re part of it, now, and that our ripples will hopefully spread out (along with our intentions) and have a positive impact where they flow.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Spreading good…yes. That is what I want to do. My swiftness was mostly inspired by you tagging me then my actually reading half the entries to date. I was pleasantly surprised to wake up this morning and find that my words were included and they made them red. It was truly a gift. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lizzi says:

          Lisa’s the one who tagged me or I would have missed it! I hope my words get included too! It’s a gorgeous project and a couple of the entries were outstanding.

          I’m so glad we get to poem together in this way 🙂 Maybe we should do a poetry duet sometime and see what falls out 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • I would LOVE that. I’ve only done one duet before back when I was 17. My best friend (we were penpals at the time) sent me a stanza she had written and I couldn’t help myself finishing it. It was fun. 🙂

            Like

  2. bobcabkings says:

    Oh, yea, it is good enough, very very! As for me, I may yet find a poet voice for this.

    Like

  3. bobcabkings says:

    Reblogged this on cabbagesandkings524 and commented:
    Lizzi contributes to Poets For Peace

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Peggy Nolan says:

    Most definitely good enough! I once wrote a poem about war and everyone who read it though it was a love story. Because it was and it wasn’t. It was about me finding peace through forgiveness.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rowena says:

    Love it, Lizzie! Stright from the heart! xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Skydreamer says:

    Beautiful beautiful poem ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. siamorweng says:

    Its Great. And Beautiful. And honest.

    check out my blog. http://siamorweng.wordpress.com/
    Poetry too. Hopefully just as amazing

    Like

  8. boundrose says:

    Reblogged this on Bound By Rosie and commented:
    This is lovely poem

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Leen says:

    Nice words!🌷

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

