How Beautiful Her Face

 

blue moon-970-80

Watch her beautiful face, how it shines

Round and full,

But not smooth…

No, her skin is not smooth at all.

Her face is showing her age,

Marked with cracks and crags,

Blemishes upon the white surface.

No matter how much she powders it,

The scars show through.

And so, she slowly loses her confidence,

Begins to turn away from me

And hide.

Every night I tell her how lovely she is,

Profess my love for her and her missing smile.

It takes a while,

But ever so gracefully she turns back around

And shines her light on me again.

How beautiful she is, my moon-

Aged and scarred, yes,

But beautiful, nevertheless.

 

The prompt for this week from Poets On the Page was to write a poem about cycles. What better correlation to make than the comparison between women and the moon?

3 comments on “How Beautiful Her Face

  1. Lizzi says:

    I love it here, I love it there, I love your poems everywhere ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

