Surely it can’t be

All your Nows

Why is it I want so much what you can’t give?
Why do I yearn for a life I could never live?
Why do I behave in ways I just can’t forgive?
It could be anything…
Surely it can’t be love?

Why is it I hang my head under a bright sky?
Why do I fill this empty room with a deep sigh?
Why does my heart still flutter like it could fly?
It could be anything…
Surely it can’t be love?

Why do I want to cave and give in to lust?
Why do I seek what’s neither right nor just?
Why am I still not ready for this to gather dust?
It could be anything…
Surely it can’t be love?

Why do I think it’s plausible to try to defend?
Why, when I know there’s no possible way to amend?
Why do I still hope this story has a happy end?
It could be anything…
Surely it can’t be love?

Why do I still want to give you the moon and the night stars?
Why do I want to prolong what I should call farce?
Why do I want more than the ‘Now’s that are just ours?
It could be anything…
Surely it can’t be love?

Why do I worry the truth will begin to show?
Why do I think I should get on and let you go?
Why does my brain say “Yes” and my heart say forever “No!”?
It could be anything…
Surely, it can’t be, Love?

12 comments on “Surely it can’t be

  1. bobcabkings says:

    FIRST! — as for, “Surely, it can’t be, Love?”, there’s an old saying: If it looks like a duck, and waddles like a duck, and quacks like a duck, and swims like a duck, and flies like a duck, its a duck. — so beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bobcabkings says:

    Reblogged this on cabbagesandkings524 and commented:
    More of Lizzi’s love poetry

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mandi says:

    But what if it is love? Love is excruciating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lizzi says:

      Well. I can’t argue with that one, at ALL! Which bothers me, somewhat. I feel like there should be a counterbalance or comeback, but there just isn’t one.

      *hugs*

      And…I suppose, in the end, what if it is? The world goes on…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Samara says:

    I want to comment something like, “love has many facets,” but that seems really banal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lizzi says:

      No, I get it though. It has many facets, many faces, many guises and it appears in many places you’d never expect, never assume, and sometimes it lasts and other times it’s gone too soon; but unequivocally, relentlessly, it’s love…whatever else it might look like.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Well. Anything can be anything right? I can tell you this – I love this. The ending? Wowza.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lizzi says:

      Yeah – I think so. I’m learning to take a wider view. The more input I get from people who know far more what they’re talking about – lots of people who acknowledge the multifaceted, many-guised nature of love – the more I think I probably don’t need to be so narrow in my thinking or parameters.

      So glad you like it, and especially the ending – I thought that helped redeem the rest of it a bit 🙂

      Like

Well?

