Grapefruit Thoughts

Grapefruit Thoughts - welltemperedbards.wordpress

I remember you when I eat grapefruit;
How you showed me the first time
And blew my mind
The way to take the bitterness out
And keep the sweetness in
So simple in the end – remove the skin
Not just of the fruit, but of each slice
And as you weilded the small knife
I discovered…it tastes nice!
Maybe you laughed at my surprise
I probably laughed back at the light
Of happiness, of friendship in your eyes
But I’m pretty sure we ate that whole fruit
Chattering like monkeys over breakfast
As the sun drenched us in it’s early morning pour
Through kitchen window onto still-cold floor.
I learned from you that day
That sweetness can be kept and
Bitterness kept at bay
And we sat, our fingers drenched in juice
Piling our plates with discarded translucent skins
For those bitter things there is no use.
We wrestled gently to keep each rosy segment whole
Peeling off the pith, intent on finding its delicious soul
Devouring each dripping, nectar-bursting piece
A breakfast-time adventure – wonders never cease,
And you never ceased to amaze me, dear
Now I sit and eat my grapefruit alone
Peeling away the bitterness in the morning sun
Licking the running juice from my fingers
Like you showed me
And I wish that you were here.

18 comments on “Grapefruit Thoughts

  1. bobcabkings says:

    Just as tasty the second time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] this, but my brain is foggy and I can’t remember it right now. But the breakfast and the poem were good. The sunbeam was cheering, and the friend and the friendship truly […]

    Like

  3. It is in the sweet moments of little memories like this that we most find ourselves missing the other who shared the moment with us. When souls touch, even briefly, the remembering is sweet.
    Josie Two Shoes from Josie’s Journal

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lizzi says:

      I was lucky – I sent the link to my friend, and even though she’s far away, she read it and liked it, and remembered 🙂 It was a beautiful moment 🙂

      Like

  4. Mandi says:

    I’m not a huge grapefruit fan, but I’m a fan of you and your friendship, and this poem is almost as delicious as both of those.

    On a different note, I ate a green grapefruit in Bora Bora that came from a farm on an island, and I swear it’s the best tasting fruit I’ve ever had.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lizzi says:

      See? Even though you’ve been hiding in a hole away from blogging, you’ve not lost the knack of giving *great* comment. 😀

      Is a green grapefruit fundamentally different from the ruby/yellow ones you can buy normally? Is it just unripe, or an entirely different species? Also WOW that sounds gorgeous – to eat green grapefruit on Bora Bora (maybe it’s all the alliteration).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mandi says:

        I was literally in the ocean when I ate it. I had gone on a jet ski tour, and we stopped in the middle of the ocean on a sand bar for a break, and our guide drove to his grandmother’s farm and brought back grapefruit and coconut. It looked the exact same (only lime green) and tasted a bit sweeter than a ripe ruby grapefruit. I don’t know what they do to their grapefruit, but I ate them like crazy there. And the bananas were little dwarf bananas but firm and super sweet.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. herheadache says:

    Reblogged this on Her Headache and commented:
    Winner winner! Well deserved. A beautiful thing. A small thing. How I eat grapefruit too.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gilly says:

    Excellent piece of poetry! Not sing-song and twee – just evocative.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

