Not Mine

All your Nows

A catch-breath look ignites your eyes
My heart beats overtime
The rush of YOU obscures my view
But I know that you’re not mine,
Not mine, I know that
You’re not mine

Our bodies laid enrapture wrapped
Bright-skied and outside time
Discovery close and yet we chose
But I know that you’re not mine,
Not mine, I know that
You’re not mine

Long talks, late nights, shared looks, play fights,
Both skilled at Being Fine
We’ve struck gold in each other’s souls
But I know that you’re not mine,
Not mine, I know that
You’re not mine

I love your polished passions shown
So too your unrefined
Being close like this is privilege
But I know that you’re not mine,
Not mine, I know that
You’re not mine

Unprepared, but this bond shared
In proximities we define
Your scent I smelled, you touch; I melt
But I know that you’re not mine
Not mine, I know that
You’re not mine

Light-darked with not-forever marks
Your fingertips down my spine
Not futureproof, but Now will do
‘Cos I know that you’re not mine
Not mine, I know that
You’re not mine.

10 comments on “Not Mine

  1. Rica@ Yoga Mat Monkey says:

    Love your way with words. Thanks for sharing your work. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sourgirlohio says:

    This is beautiful, Lizzi. Bittersweet and beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Thank you, my sweet friend. And yes, I can only agree. It’s that kind of a time of life, and it’s manifesting in all kinds of ways (mostly poetic) and I’m just trying to stay afloat.

      Like

  3. bobcabkings says:

    Memories rise, floating up from past depths of time and place and others. Beautiful poem, and, yes, bittersweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ll borrow what’s not mine by using other’s comments here and say bittersweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. stuckinscared says:

    Beautiful, powerful poetry, Lizzi. Bittersweet, as others have said. Hit me right in the feels!

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

