I see me – Kristi R Campbell (Guest Bard)

I see the sea and I see me

 

I touch me
I smell salt
I smell earth
I smell sea
I smell the salt of the earth and of the sea
I see the sea and I see me

Crashing
Destructing
Moving forward
Retreating
Coming again
I see force and destruction
I see you, standing
Standing in the line of destruction
Standing in and of beauty
From the sea
From the see
From the salt, and from the earth
From my tears
From me, pushing you into the surf
You swim
And then, you see me
And then, you see you

 

Kristi Campbell

 

Kristi Rieger Campbell’s passion is writing and drawing stupid-looking pictures for her blog, Finding Ninee. It began with a memoir about her special-needs son Tucker, abandoned when she read that a publisher would rather shave a cat than read another memoir. Kristi writes for a variety of parenting websites including Huffington Post Parents, has been published in multiple popular anthologies, received 2014 BlogHer’s Voice of the Year People’s Choice Award, and was a proud cast member of the DC Listen to Your Mother show. Find her on Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest.

 

Bards’ verdict: Love the initial simplicity of this piece, which then spins imagery; wave upon wave of complexity; thoughts swelling and breaking; spreading themselves across the shores of the imagination. Beautifully done.
41 comments on “I see me – Kristi R Campbell (Guest Bard)

  1. amycake76 says:

    Oh, well done, Kristi!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely. Why are all the people on the internet so late? Or early?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Dana says:

    Wonderful, Kristi. How cool is it to try new things?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. beth teliho says:

    well done, you! what a lovely poem.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. ivywalker says:

    Absolutely heartfelt and spectacular… Lovely stuff youre made of.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. susanzutautas says:

    You should write more poetry….. I loved this!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Kristi Campbell - findingninee says:

    I pushed her to the sea so that she could see
    which meant I was also pushing me, which I did not want
    Which I wanted
    much
    more
    maybe than most.
    Brave and terrified, I was and I am
    but you,
    you,
    you,
    will not be, because of the see, and because of the sea.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

