Home

Love Wins

“Home is within you”
Wisdom of ages spelled out again
To one whose home is suddenly changed
Split into dual worlds; mutually exclusive
I sit and wonder what to do

‘I left my heart on the runway’
Continuing in a shell of empty rooms
Tattered cobwebs stretch through
Pictures on the walls of distance-faded friends
I sit and ponder how to change

“Just know you’re always with me”
My Now transposed to alternate plane
I’m juxtaposed; can never be the same
Cold wind blows dust across my floors
I sit and waste time wondering

“Always, always remember this”
Ghosts where life was once abundent
“Too brief, too brief” my anguished lament
My dolor hidden fast, for it offends
I sit, considering what’s amiss

“You know we’re your people too”
Sadness, things stown, dust-sheets
Opposing voices tug my heartbeats
Resignation we’re all forever changed
I sit, impatient, wanting time in lieu

“You’ll come back again. You will”
Caress each picture in the emtpy room
Silent whisper “I’ll be back soon”
Shiver in the echoing alone
I sit, life rendered, whole ‘Until…’

12 comments on “Home

  1. Michelle says:

    THis is haunting and beautiful and I can relate…still figuring out why. I love this

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is gorgeous Lizzi. Makes my heart happy and hurting all at once. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lesliesholly says:

    I think about the concept of “home” a lot. Is it a place or a frame of mind? Can you have more than one? Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

