Vigilance

blacksmith-s-forge

In an rare moment of unguarded confidence

I let a friend read my poetry.

” I learned something about you today,”

Striking fear into my soul.

I felt myself lock into place

Like a blacksmith’s hammer to iron,

shaping my resistance,

building my fortress.

Badge 4

9 comments on “Vigilance

  1. Letting yourself out there can be very daunting!

    Like

  2. Well-written . . . plus, you’ve piqued my curiousity. What did your friend learn? 🙂

    Like

  3. Fida says:

    Wow! I love this. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Candy says:

    much trepidation in this and a cliff-hanger too! well said.

    Like

  5. There is no other way then letting the world know who we are 🙂

    Like

  6. Aww :/ Sometimes the music, your own particular brand, doesn’t fit all ears. I hear it loud and clear. Keep writing 😀

    Like

  7. Great write, feeling safe within walls.

    Like

  8. unmasking our self is a brave move..

    Like

  9. jazzytower says:

    What your friend learned..I’m betting nothing earth shattering…just the fact that he got a peek into your soul….scary. No one I know reads my poetry….crazy right! Well penned:)

    Like

Well?

