My Precious

You know shes a diamond and shes constantly undersold

Heart in mouth, how
Long was I stood there?
Anxiety my companion
Hoping, waiting, praying
That you’d be there

Counting minutes as they stretched
Towards infinity
Heart trembling in my chest
Wondering, thinking, waiting
What would you think of me?

Thinking, whirling, panicking
Deciding what to do
Sketchy strategies forming
Heart fearing abandonment
Yet somehow you knew

A raucous love-cry
Echoed throughout the air
Hearts exploded into joy
Hugged, held, whirling
My world changed by your care

Heart a million miles away
I still recall your touch
Impatient, held, but yearning
I’m coming back
I love you so, so much

10 comments on “My Precious

  1. marisab04 says:

    so beautiful…

    how are you feeling since your back….how was your re-entry – hope you had a wonderful time in murica and that murica treated you with kindness. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda Kay says:

    Wow! Awesome, and something most of us have felt at some time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. stuckinscared says:

    WOW! Stunning poetry… you bring us right into the moment with you x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. J Lapis says:

    Sounds wonderful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Life-changingly so. Until that point I had no idea whether I was going to be able to be physical with people I met (not in a weird way, but just in a ‘I’m English so automatically a bit leery of physical contact and it’s not something we really tend to do’ kind of way) and as soon as she hugged me, I realised like a thunderbolt to the soul, that I am MOST DEFINITELY a hugger. And a holder. And a holder of hands, stroker of arms, arm around your shoulders, VERY much all about the physical closeness kind of person. And I never really knew that…until that moment.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. valj2750 says:

    Beautiful, no words, really, except I feel your story more having met you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Thank you, OceanHeart. This was my very first meeting with my very first person in Murica, and I had been SO worried that I wouldn’t be okay, and she made me okay, and she changed me for the better, for everyone else. It was magical.

      Liked by 1 person

Well?

