OCTPOWRIMO…AS THE STOMACH SPINS…

My apologies go out to readers, the writer of the prayer on which this horrible little ditty is based, and my dog Doug who has had to put up with my attitude during this rather lengthy convalescence. Ivy

 

stock-photo-now-i-lay-me-down-to-sleep-prayer-word-art-vintage-background-153904601

Now I lay me down to sleep,

I pray the Lord my soul to keep,

If I should die before I wake,

I’ll say “ABOUT TIME!” for goodness sake.

I’ve had it with the heaving gut,

I’m done with all the disgusting stuff,

That seems to go along with this

little bout of gastric bliss.

So God, if you choose to take me now

I promise you my final vow

I will not bitch “it is too soon!”

or beg to let me be immune.

I’ll come along most willingly,

I can do it just wait and see.

Ok just kidding , but if you see fit

Feel free to end all this flu… stuff.

Thanks God,

Ivy

Badge 4

15 comments on “OCTPOWRIMO…AS THE STOMACH SPINS…

  1. Janet says:

    you are a trooper…nothing like a sense of humor to see us through the tough stuff!! feel better, my dear.

    Like

  2. Linda Kay says:

    I certainly hope you are feeling better….cute adaptation of the prayer!

    Like

  3. Can’t stand the flue myself, ma’am!

    Like

  4. Get well soon. 🙂

    Like

  5. Brilliant! Your spirit and humor are just what I need today.

    Like

  6. J Lapis says:

    I absolutely LOVE this! I’m equally eager to go Home, and I don’t have half of what you do to deal with, I’m certain. God bless you, baby girl!

    Like

  7. Tamara Woods says:

    Ugh, I know this feeling all too well. Blech.

    Like

  8. Cindy says:

    Sorry to hear that you got the crud, but your poem is wonderfully witty and fun to read.

    Like

Well?

