Murican Lullaby

Hardwired Heart

Tooma looma looma, tooma looma looma

Looma ly-ay

My heart now stuck like glue

Throughout the States

And as the plane takes off

It tears and breaks

Tiara sparkling bright, and glitter on

You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

 

Any umbrellas, any umbrellas

To mend today?

Each person I’ve made Real

Was no surprise

We’ve shared our stories,

Songs and lullabies

Eyes now shining bright, and glitter on

You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

 

Bring your parasol

It may be small, it may be big

Opened hearts and homes

Showed colours true

Made tangible; that

I belong to you

Surrounded by love’s light, and glitter on

You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

 

He will mend them all

With what he calls ‘a thingamajig’

I break without you –

Sight or scent or touch

I scarcely knew

My heart could love this much

You set my soul to ‘fight’ – with glitter on

You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

 

Tooma looma looma, Tooma looma looma

Here comes the rain

When ‘soon’ becomes my ‘now’

No more I’ll yearn

For now you have to stand

And watch me burn

My life will be lived right – I’ve glitter on

You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

 

Any umbrellas, any umbrellas

To mend today?

I’ve tasted Southern Flavor

Now I see

That I’ve Become.

Beloved; alive; more ME

Forever my delight, with glitter on

You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

 

He’ll pack up his troubles

And go on his way

My Lifeboats, BW, Precious

1000Mile Heart

I’ll ne’er forget you

Soon I’ll ne’er depart

My chance to live alight has glitter on

You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

 

Singing

Tooma looma looma, looma-lay

Tooma looma looma, looma-lay

 

So you’ll miss me by my hair

And my glitter everywhere

But don’t you ever dare

Forget about me

I’ll get my tickets

For the long way round

Back here where I wanna be, baby

Found gold beside my rainbow

Found my home

You’re gonna miss me –

But I won’t be gone

For long

Any umbrellas to mend

Today?

39 comments on “Murican Lullaby

  1. Vince says:

    Frist.

    Beautifully written as always. I shall start mentally preparing myself for the possibility of you moving out there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michelle says:

    OMG I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!

    Like

  3. ❤ ❤ safe travels to you, until we meet again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kristi Campbell - findingninee says:

    I love you. And I’ve missed you since you left.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I already miss you…

    But now comes the time to plan and prepare your way….

    BACK.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mandi says:

    I do miss you. Please come back.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. amycake76 says:

    It’s true. I do miss you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Scott says:

    I can’t wait to see you again. And next time we’re drinking!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ivywalker says:

    Ive missed you since youve gone….nice to see you here though!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. valj2750 says:

    I’m tearing up. Love abounds .We’ll raise a glass when you come around – AGAIN. Love you, Lizzi.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Well, I didn’t get to meet you…and I am sad about that. But your poem is sweet. Glad you had a good time.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. J Lapis says:

    Wow, what a fabulous poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Samara says:

    Yesterday it was pouring raining, and Little Dude reached for the umbrella in the car, and then we remembered we gave it to you outside Target. And we both smiled, remembering that moment.

    Come back to us, and to the life you were meant to have, full of love.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. qwietpleez says:

    One more verse into your new chapter . . . I am so happy for you, for your joy. The twinkle in your eyes is still with me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. […] said, there’s always poetry, which (for some) gives a clearer insight into my heart than anything else I write, and I’m […]

    Like

  16. It was so wonderfulmagicalsparklyhappy to meet you in real. I still have my red thread 🙂 I cannot wait until your return, my sweet friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

