Dear Friend

Sunset Heart

Dear friend, you have my heart
I’ll let you know right now, forever’s
Never going to start to be enough
For no forever ever could
Encapsulate the height
Or depth
Or breadth
Of love
My fortune-favoured soul
Has found in you, and
Somehow, once upon a time
You plucked me
From the swirling masses
Who imbibed their minds sublime
With such delight upon your words
And I amongst them eager to
Consume the exquisite things I heard
Yet through the clamour you saw
Some tiny thing, some heart-hook
Which made it worth your while
To spend time on a second look:
That time you spent was never lost
Though gambled, I can promise you
Money back – I’ll guarantee the cost
Whatever you outlay I’ll find somehow
Some way to pay you back
For all the worth and wonder
You’ve given me
Freely
No expectation
No demands or asks
Just quiet determination
On my part that I would
Learn from you and try
To finally start to live
And LOVE,
For heaven knows
I was failing – heart-sick
Scared to prove my word
And hiding behind veils
Yet you were unabashed
Courageous. Beautiful.
You taught me #LoveWins
And true love never fails
You chose to see it through
And now I owe a debt of love
To you, for I’m now free
To say that I love you
And all because
You first
Loved me.

13 comments on “Dear Friend

  1. newworldmom says:

    Frist …. HahahahaI have been waiting to do this

    Liked by 1 person

  2. newworldmom says:

    Now, that I have done that I will say, how very much I love this! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Serins says:

    ❤ Beautiful poem, and those closing lines. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vince says:

    I want this to be about me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Blown away by this outpouring, lizzi… raw, beautiful… wide open.

    Stunning poetry! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      It was one of those very late-night moments where the heart swims close to the surface and clamours to be heard. There are people in my world to whom I often respond in poetry, just because their spirit elicits it from mine, and I have to write or burst from trapped meaning…

      I find I can never express those deepest Feels so well as I can in poetry.

      Liked by 1 person

Well?

