Sawdust in our eyes

Play with words

I pose to you; does it matter
If you sweat and strain
Write, pause, delete and start again
When you know full well
You can make magic?
I ask you, does it make a difference
To the value of your words
(Or self) if they take time
Effort
Energy
Consideration
To produce something special
(Which, without reservation I can say
I KNOW you do)
Just because
You fell into the trap of comparison
(The very one you told me to avoid
The very one you told me was a lie
The very one you told me was all in my mind
The very one you got caught in –
WHY?)
My sweet, I fear you’re just as trapped as me
Just as stuck inside a spiral thought: “I suck”
And every bit as seduced by illusions of inadequacy
My glib mind and sleight of word
Make me no more worthy to be heard
Just quicker seen
Meanwhile I know that you, behind the screen
Can do such things I couldn’t even dream:
You dance, you play, you’re beautiful
All I can do is make you laugh
With language swift turned tool…
I wonder
Might it be that we
Sit here with specks of sawdust clouding our vision
Beating ourselves up
Imagining them to be planks?

 

I wrote this a while ago (I no longer know when) and I’m pretty sure it was for Mandi, who writes exquisitely, so I’m linking one of my favourite posts of hers: Boys, Booze, a Benz, and the A-Team

9 comments on “Sawdust in our eyes

  1. Vince says:

    FRIST!

    Ah, writer’s block. My old adversary.

    (Another example of BANAL evil.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The way you pair words and take control of my head with your poems continues to amaze me. Lovely Lizzi.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. valj2750 says:

    Always the zinger at the end that leaves me so enthralled and philosophical.

    Like

  4. Mandi says:

    I’m so lucky to be loved by you. Ahhhh. The comparison trap. Can’t say I know how to avoid it very well, but I will try to. At the very least. Thank gig for this.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

