Emotional Hangover

Sunset Heart

I’ve fallen over that dread edge again
My thoughts in tangles and my heart undone
I’m lost in tangents; light-bathed, wasted
Beauty bloodied by the setting sun

My world feels raw and shadowed now
My heart tied firm to yours in bright red string
Though barbed I draw it close around me
Grounded by the comfort love and hurt bring

“Acknowledge; embrace; step back; reframe”
I fight for air – my soul as yet unseasoned
A tattered being drowning in life’s floods again
Waterlogged and heeding voices still unreasoned

A false smile scratches claws across my cheeks
Head pounding – a relentless, dizzy drum
Unbidden prayers lips whisper into vapour
Heart keens to feel the warmth of drenching sun

Darkness drags the corners of existence
I’m too lacklustre to leave a life half-won
Please keep me tethered, wait, and I will glow again
To reignite; burn bright as I’d begun.

11 comments on “Emotional Hangover

  1. sourgirlohio says:

    Love you, Lizzi, hope you are burning bright again very soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. stuckinscared says:

    *hugging you* x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Big hugs. Big ones. Squeezing the sparkles back out like a glow stick.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lesliesholly says:

    Hugs, Lizzi. There are some really striking lines in there–particularly “the comfort love and hurt bring.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sending lot’s of light your way and hoping you start glowing in the dark! xo

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

