Retreat

I have no need of me

 

Bleeding life from a thousand paper cuts
Comparing former love and future hurts
What was light is turned to darkness thus
Concede, for it is never only words

One truth too many – but ne’er meant to appall:
Words so unwanted they seem fictional
Now apply to extricate from your enthrall
Admit that love is never unconditional

Haphazard tangent on a road of sighs
No intention e’er designed to set my sights
Existence shunned – it must no more belie
And alter course. You set your world to rights.

4 comments on “Retreat

  1. Larry says:

    I have need of you.

    Like

  2. Larry says:

    I’m going somewhere at 5am today. I’ll be thinking about your poems during my travels…

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

