Mercy Killing

No Love Lost

 

Strike the final blow, old thing
I’m laying down my swords
I can’t match, nor outdo your game
The prize already yours

In what world or circumstance
Could e’er the truth define
That such an exquisite masterpiece
Might be determined ‘mine’

Nay, dispel; dispatch already
Pour smite upon my head
Cleave it from my emptied thoughts
And heart, and world, and bed

Though smitten, turn my depthless eyes
Away – no more to see
That which I knew before the start
‘Not mine’ and ne’er would be

So let that death-blow topple me
We danced but sure, you won
Removal next – so delicately
It might’ve already begun.

4 comments on “Mercy Killing

  1. ivywalker says:

    Whoa! Something has gotten messed up. On a happier note…your poetry is spot on if it can convey such a thing …dont cha think?

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I think it might have gotten very messed up. My fault, I think, and if so, better to concede than fight it. Sadly. Time will tell.

      But thanks. I had to wake up and to write this one down…it was burdening my mind and wouldn’t stop until it was writ (at 2am-ish).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Larry says:

    What Ivy said.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

