Delerium

Today is National Survivorship Day (pertaining to cancer survivors). To give you some context, this is an old poem… everything is cool now, but when I wrote it I was really p***** off at my brain, which I had thought of as a safe haven away from the ravages of my then health issues.

Delerium

I live here.

How long have you been plotting to turn me out?

I’ve written poetry for you.

Others have betrayed me-

Committed treason,

Not understanding how they failed themselves.

Not you.

You were loyal, firm.

I believed in you.

I knew we could beat the odds,

We already have,

But that’s not enough.

 

Evicted from my physical home,

You begged me “ hold on.”

Somehow, I’ve overstayed my welcome.

It’s not you it’s me.

My bones ache from chemical “cures.”

My organs are half gone,

Others work as if they don’t even belong to our little collective-

This body-

What I like to call, “my life.”

 

I.

Live.

Here.

We’ve always faced this together-

Basking in warm accolades.

“I love the way your brain works!”

“Where do you come up with this stuff?”

“You’re so smart.”

Saboteur, Judas-

Marinating in an ocean of cerebral spinal fluid,

Plotting your fait accompli.

 

I may go down this time,

But it does me good

To know,

I’m taking you with me.

 

5 comments on “Delerium

  1. amycake76 says:

    Congratulations, survivor!

    Like

  2. Linda Kay says:

    So glad you can count yourself among the survivors. A very angry poem for sure.

    Like

  3. lrconsiderer says:

    I’m so glad this is an old poem, rehashed, and that you’re here to tell us so ❤

    Like

Well?

