That old refrain

I have no need of me

 

Entrapped by insufficiency like hunger turning in

Seduced by my inadequacy and drowning in my skin

Undone, uncaring, giving up – I let the demons win

I want you, but I have no need of me.

 

I hear your pretty words but I’m beyond your kind of wise

There’s blood beneath my nails and only darkness in my eyes

Through poetry I know I live my truths in plain disguise

I want you, but I have no need of me.

 

You pin me to existence but it’s not the life I want

Deny! Deny! Deny! I toe-tap-whistle; nonchalant

Release me; keep me; break me – I could be your doll to flaunt

I want you, but I have no need of me.

 

Effacing my existence voids a mirror of derision

You could ne’er make me regret or change this wrong decision

Yet I stumble, finding fault; requiring more revision

I want you, but I have no need of me.

 

I didn’t want to fall but these things follow no-one’s plan

The sting and smart and shock serves to remind me that I am

Enigma, liar, hypocrite -untrustworthy; a sham

I want you, but I have no need of me.

 

And yet you love me, Anyway… and wrap me round with light

You tell me that I’ll be okay – to not give up the fight

I wish I could relinquish this and let you prove you’re right

I want you, but I have no need of me.

 

 

11 comments on “That old refrain

  1. Scott says:

    In tainted mirror you solemnly gaze
    Distorted reflection, dishonest haze
    Trapped inside a demon’s maze
    I call to you, but you don’t hear me

    Focused on a demon’s lies
    Through blackened lens and bloodshot eyes
    You see it’s you which you despise
    I wave to you, but you don’t see me

    I squeeze you ’til my face turns blue
    I’m turning an unnatural hue
    Pouring out my love for you
    I touch you, but you don’t feel me

    I’ve done all I can think to do
    Need your help to save you
    Ending pointless rendezvous
    I release you, and hope you come back to me

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ivywalker says:

    DO you two want to be alone? Just kidding… 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

