Crush

Icarus Falling

It’s morning in my automaton world

Life doesn’t seem to start ’til you’re awake

Dragging by instead in gloaming shadows

My vision greyed, before daybreak

 

My ridiculous wishing hours

Dreamed away, will come to naught

Every fantasy an act of dumb futility

Designed, dismissed – they need to be forgot

 

Surveying you with dream-strewn thoughts

What love is this if spangled full of care

Desiring truths but living half in lies

It nonetheless seeks to destroy what’s there

 

Firsthought of my heart on waking

Last-thought. Everthought. In too deep.

Was this encouraged? Or did I just indulge

The way I sometimes see you in my sleep?

 

Reality will crash and burn quite soon

I feel the storm, and t’will be no surprise

I must release, let go, let life consume me

Erase the image of you behind my eyes

 

I know the fix, the purge, the white-hot pain

Of excise, for somehow I must be leaving

Or I’ll come undone, unravelled but

E’en thinking this I find I’m barely breathing.

6 comments on “Crush

  1. Michelle says:

    Oh wow…I remember these thoughts so well. Only I didn’t think them as eloquently as you wrote them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda Kay says:

    I think this was me during the night last night. I’m sure I slept some, but the thoughts kept swirling through my mind..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ivywalker says:

    Is that Icarus up there? You drew that right? Actually having read the poem … not Icarus but just falling… yes?

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

