Please don’t leave me…

Sudden panic

And the waves of darkness come crashing in

Eroding me, undermining

Because you’re slowly disappearing

No more inhabiting

With such abandon

The world to which I’m wired

And as I see you begin to leave, I wonder

What would be required

To tempt you not to go; to make you stay

What kind of thing could I do, or write, or say

Or is it just – new challenges have you fired

All riled and raring to go

Taking your attention; performing

A far prettier show

I know

I can’t compete.

Perhaps it’s just the time of year

Or maybe what we have is now complete

And there is no more – and nothing more to say

If you feel you need to go

I’ll not beg you to stay

But wish you well, SO well

And hope that on those days when you look back

You’ll remember with fondness

Perhaps allow your mind to dwell

On all the good things that this was,

Because if you leave, you won’t see mess

You won’t see begging, crying, pleading

I’ll never out-loud confess

How deep my heart is breaking, or how scared

I am to face the world without your presence

It won’t be shared

For I’ll just sparkle you with glitter and let you carry on

I’ll shout encouragement as you leave me behind

I won’t break

I won’t break

I won’t break

Until you’re gone.

 

Hardwired Heart

12 comments on “Please don’t leave me…

  1. Jen @ Driftwood Gardens says:

    Oooh this got me right in the feels.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I lived it in the feels. Had a morning of sudden anxiety (and as I disclaimered on fb after people got ahold of ENTIRELY the wrong end of the stick – this is NOT about my marriage. There weren’t enough feelings left in that to evoke this kind of response. lol )

      Like

  2. Linda Kay says:

    Such gallantry in parting! I could feel the emotion as I read…nice job.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I refuse to hold people back, and if they have other priorities it’s nothing to do with me. In this case it might be timing or priorities or the weekend or any number of things which have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH ME AT ALL…but I had an anxiety and this just poured out.

      Like

  3. You rode the wave of emotion and made something pretty out of it. Win. And hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Isn’t it amazing how the most beautiful poetry is created at the saddest times? I loved how you came to the conclusion and decision that whatever was happening had nothing to do with you. Sometimes that’s the most difficult thing to realize. You’re fabulous Lizzi – I don’t tell you that nearly often enough. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      You don’t need to tell me, sweet Michelle, but I appreciate you choosing to. Thank you 🙂

      I still think it’s nothing to do with me, and in honesty, now, I think that probably if I shared this, I’d be reprimanded a) for not just asking, b) for even thinking it in the first place, and c) for ever-loving NOT JUST ASKING.

      I’m quite convinced it’s not to do with me. And I don’t think the distance will last (and I think to suggest that it might would be taken very poorly indeed) so today I am content to let things lie. It was me having a wobbly moment, that’s all.

      And thank you for calling this beautiful 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Well?

