#NaPoWriMo Ohhh I know this one…

Play with words

It’s said Keith Richards
Kept a tape recorder by his bed
So that if he was inspired in the night
He didn’t have to go anywhere; just record

Just make noise and see –
Maybe, if it’s the right noise
We’ll be millionaires and happy
And full of generosity which could bankrupt us

Or maybe we’ll be full
Of something rather more wonderful
Than cash, because though
It makes the world go round

It’s cold.

It’s harsh.

It’s cruel.

And maybe somehow in reaching out
At those times when we feel Less Than
We find our hands taken by those who’ve gone before

And they will assist us

For they know what it is to BE us.

But then who helps them?

Think on that as life drifts by between the lines
Think on that as you think
Of bright, ribbon-wrapped packages
And silver stars

Dream of perfection and wonder
And above all else Love, which you
Are finally ready for.

Because maybe in dreams you’re safest.

 

00NaPoWriMo15

Can you know a maybe? I don’t know but the prompt today was to write what we know. Well I KNOW how to touch-type and I know how to keep writing as I fall asleep. I DON’T know whether what comes out of my brain just as it’s about to drift of is poetry or a mess. So I’ll read this and publish it anyway.

8 comments on “#NaPoWriMo Ohhh I know this one…

  1. Cindy says:

    I like how this poem has two sides to it, a hard brassy and lofty feel and a soft and timid, scared but not quite afraid feeling. That’s a bit deep, but I am reading this at Midnight and I usually get little deep around then. Excellent work, Liziz!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      You summed it up beautifully! I had no idea when I woke up, what I’d written, so coming back to it to find out was absolutely fascinating. And yeah, I’m all about pretending to be hard and brassy, but really I’m quite fragile and often as transparent with the pretense as I am with the reality.

      I was fascinated to see where I referred to my friends though, and how they’re in my thoughts 🙂

      So glad you like this. And SO glad it worked as a poem!

      Like

  2. valj2750 says:

    I get the best inspiration when I’m about to nod off. Sometimes I can remember the next day, sometimes not. Your poem speaks to those million thoughts that race through our minds as we seek to quiet them in sleep. Once in a while I jot something down on the pad by my nightstand. Sometimes I can’t find a pen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda Kay says:

    I really liked the message in this. Good job

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

