#NaPoWriMo Oda-Landay-oo

To explain first (unusual, I know, but in this case it’s a worthwhile endeavour) – a Landay is an Afghan poetry form, consisting two lines and something to do with syllables and maybe or maybe not rhyming, but here’s the thing – it’s meant to be deep, pithy, womanly, and quickly convey deep (sharp?) truths about raw subjects such as love, war, separation, homeland or grief. Occasionally stilling, sometimes dreamy, and often ribald, this format is a treasured and often frowned-upon art form amongst the women who practice it most. Find out more here.

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed writing these…

Play with words

Come here to me, my sweet enigma
Together we can form tonight’s chimaera

 

You used my mind in such a manner
I nursed from your brutality; now mourn her

 

Last night you made my thoughts much warmer
I will lend my dreams to no examiner

 

00NaPoWriMo15

15 comments on “#NaPoWriMo Oda-Landay-oo

  1. Serins says:

    nice. powerful. I like.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pamela Morse says:

    Very cool. I saw a film made about Landays in Afghanistan..it was very powerful..the form is a brick house.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cindy says:

    I love your flow on these poems. Are they all one poem or separate pieces? Because they could be both, in my mind. Excellent work, Lizzi!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. amycake76 says:

    Very intriguing. And impressed with your use of chimaera.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Thank you. It worked surprisingly well, I thought. I almost kind of impressed myself! It was having to try to think of ‘na’ and ma’ endings, in keeping with the Afghan style.

      Like

Well?

