#NaPoWriMo According to Social Media…

Play with words

 

It annoys the fuck out of my kids when I use ‘their words in my vocabulary.
They are just redonkulous!
They must not know how funny they sound, you see
And you know kids – always ready to make a fuss

NO! it’s not cruelty, they know that it’s all in good fun
And the strength of that bond will help to prepare them for life
Hang onto it tight, because sadly when it comes undone
It’s a Pandora’s Box of uncertainty, anger and strife

But what is this world where there is cause to say to a girl
Excuse me, your vulva is showing“?
How can we protect from the barbs that advertisements hurl
And show the next generation the right way of growing?

Because that girl on the dancefloor is certainly Somebody’s Daughter
But she’s using her body as though it’s her only asset
Enough with the whispering scandal of “Somebody oughtta…”
With more affirmation we all could embrace every facet

Learning Compassion, and loving ourselves is the root;
The task we must conquer if we are to ever succeed
Mastery’s not commitment to a goal, but to a constant pursuit
Together we’re stronger‘ is more like the cry that we need

Take the Star on the right, and then straight on til morning
Learn to live life with arms open and fists uncurled
One More Star; there we are – a new day could be dawning
If we all band together you know that we CAN change the world

The End

00NaPoWriMo15

 

The prompt today was probably the most bizarre yet – to craft a poem from social media; tweets, blog updates, facebook messages, texts…and it seemed BONKERS til I found a kindasorta theme. DO click the links – they’re all good ones πŸ™‚

7 comments on “#NaPoWriMo According to Social Media…

  1. You are in mine πŸ™‚ I like the line you got.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dana says:

    I was perplexed when I saw this pingback on my blog…how cool, Lizzi! You are the most creative and clever person I know. And I know lots of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Awwwwwh THANK YOU Dana. I loved your post and I read it, even though I didn’t have anything to say right then (trying to bang out the TToT! ACK) but I thought your thoughts were lovely, and I wanted to say that one of the things which matters to ME about you and the way you spend your time, is that you’re still my hope-holder.

      Thank you for such a gorgeous compliment, and for the borrow of your post πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Well?

