#NaPoWriMo You are more than you know

Heart

 

I wish I knew a way you could feel good enough
For once your brain’s decided, you won’t hear
I beg you’d take my words as conduit, love

I’m sidelined while you’re lashing out at fear
Immobilised with nothing else to give
For once your brain’s decided, you won’t hear

So tangled up in doubt your life’s half-lived
I want to send you freedom through the wires
Immobilised with nothing else to give

Your passionate spark could start a forest fire
So bright it would be seen from up in space
I want to send you freedom through the wires

Step out from shadowed world and take your place
I want your heart to burst to glorious flame
So bright it would be seen from up in space

I’ll teach the world to love your very name
I wish I knew a way you could feel good enough
I want your heart to burst to glorious flame
I beg you’d take my words as conduit, love

00NaPoWriMo15

Our prompt today was less mathematical, more formulaic (which I don’t have a problem with (because I didn’t have to count on my fingers)) and rather lovely. I did my best to write a terzanelle – a kind of poem where the lines repeat in a beautiful way and you find that the poem leaves you back where you begin. My well of inspiration ran dry for a moment then I thought about the people who matter to me, and decided I would write in a manner which many, or one in particular, could relate to

10 comments on “#NaPoWriMo You are more than you know

  1. amycake76 says:

    This is what I want to say to YOU. If only I could so well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cindy says:

    Awee, that is sweet! Love this form. It gets so melodic and you made it sensual and rhythmic/ Absolutely perfect!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Larry says:

    Nice. Lucky one who can relate to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. valj2750 says:

    I’m with Sarah. But can’t we always love and give to others, but not take for ourselves. In reading the comments, you said you weren’t 100% happy with it, but those turn out the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I have a piece percolating in my brain about loving the unlovable…because I know myself to be unlovable, and I think I recognise it and gravitate towards it in others, perhaps because I know how horrible it is to feel unlovable, and to act in those kinds of ways. I’m glad you liked it, and thanks for wanting it to be for me, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I am thinking that while you wrote this with a certain person in mind, it can’t help but have a smackin’ big impact on a multitude of folk.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I definitely did. Someone very wonderful and special. I think she liked it 🙂 I’m glad it’s the kind of poem which might have an impact on more than one person though – that’s an awesome thought. Thank you 🙂

      Like

Well?

