#NaPoWriMo CONFLICTED

In a Sky Full of Stars

 

Eyes widen
Heart thudding
Fight or flight in vein
Chest tighten
Panic budding
Heard you speak my name

It isn’t you,
You silly fool
Why such a fragile trust?
What can you do
To overrule
The way you flap and fuss?

So reluctant
Hiding out
Don’t want to know the truth
Re-enactment

Casting doubt
And terrified of proof

Like as not
It’s something else
Which took priority
You aren’t forgot
Don’t be so false –
No need for you to be

Stomach clenched
Discovery
Readied for new scars
Mind untrenched
My spirit free
My soul returns to stars

 

00NaPoWriMo15

 

Today’s challenge was dialogue – something which I rarely get poetical about (unless I’m trying to be *terribly* fancy, in which case I might drop a big word or six…) and having loved the explanatory poem ‘A Dialogue between the Soul and the Body‘ by Andrew Marvell, I decided to let my emotions and my logic have a little chat about the resolution (oh, sweet, wonderful resolution) of the situation which gave me a Sad, yesterday.

All is well, all is well, and all manner of things shall be well.

4 comments on “#NaPoWriMo CONFLICTED

  1. valj2750 says:

    If only my intellect could have a conversation with my emotions and stop the pain. Great poem, Lizzi. This time I read the prompt.;)

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I wish so, too. In the event, it wasn’t my intellect which won out, but that a friend got in touch and the situation changed from bad-bad to wonderful. Because I’d gone all overthinky on it in the first place and chickened out of confirming facts.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mandi says:

    It’s challenging when you don’t know what another person is thinking. I can understand that for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      More challenging still when your propensity is to internalise, assume blame (regardless of whether there is any) and put up walls. It’s a bad habit and one I’ll try to break, I promise. Personal growth needed here, methinks, but at least I’m aware of it.

      I’m a fool. And you, my sweet, are not ❤

      Like

Well?

