#NaPoWriMo My 1000Mile Heart

Hasty

Her beauty will strike you first
Though
She’ll never see it;
Appreciation of her own aesthetics
Beaten from her by life.
All that’s left is insecurity
(A fragile feeling of hope –
that perhaps she is
As gorgeous as she’s told)
And at the same time,
Mild disdain for those
Who can’t see beyond ‘skin-deep’.

Her eyes are like Tinkerbell’s,
In colour and magic,
Her hair can be any colour of the rainbow.
She is an artist;
A wordsmith;
A poet;
Wearing creativity.
Sharing her soul with the world.

She is a wonder.

Her heart has its own orbit,
Anyone fortunate enough to be within it
Will be surrounded by a love which is
Powerful
Determined
Genuine.
She loves much,
With an intensity which is rare.

She is hurt
And broken
And shinybright
And beautiful
And her presence in my world lifts my spirits;
Evokes Feels I thought myself incapable of.
She is my soul’s twin.
My Sunset.
My 1000Mile heart.

00NaPoWriMo15

A beautiful, simple prompt today – to write about one of our favourites, as a paragraph of prose, and break it into a poem. Delightful. Wonderful. Loved it. Find out more about her over at her blog, HastyWords.

11 comments on “#NaPoWriMo My 1000Mile Heart

  1. ivywalker says:

    How lovely to have a friend who admires you so! Very ….hmmmmmm….can a poem be nurturing….yes I think so.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Byron Hamel says:

    Lovely Wonderful Special Perfect ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Samara says:

    So gorgeous, Lizzi.
    And perfect because you are the two Poetesses of WordPress. So it’s fitting that you wrote her a poem 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hastywords says:

    You see me so completely it’s hard to think you can see all this beauty through the darkness I seem to manufacture. Funny thing…I see you in all these words. You and I a shared heart…1000 miles apart.

    This is beautiful and made me cry my friend. Thank you for loving me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      HA! My immediate response was (internally) “Well I don’t see any of ME up there!” But yes – we are the same, I suppose, and in that, too. *smiles* I do love you and I’m so, so glad to have your friendship and to be allowed to know you in spite of the darkness, because there is SUCH GREAT LIGHT. Promise.

      And not all your darkness is manufactured by you. I promise you that.

      I’m so glad you like this ❤

      Like

  5. Cindy says:

    Awww, Lizzi, that is sweet, beautiful, and gorgeous all rolled into one!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. […] struggle to write poetry these days but I read THIS poem Lizzi wrote and needed to write.  She is a much better poet than I am though she will never […]

    Like

Well?

