You choose me too

Stop Crying Your Heart Out

 

All of these scars across my heart

Tell you the story of who I am

Breaking the chains, I fall apart

Wasted – an effigy I am

And although I’ll never feel like I’m enough

Inadequate, uncouth, too rough

It’s true…somehow you chose me too.

 

I stumbled along the edge of doubt

Crawled on my knees on jagged shores

Followed the trails til they gave out

Traded my broken heart for yours

I whispered the things I knew I couldn’t say

Hoping they’d feel real someday

I never knew – why you chose me too

 

You see the stars inside my eyes

You know the universe I’ve cried

You feel the ice inside my soul

You know where I’m broken; vulnerable

I show you the ways I know I’m just no good

But you don’t back off like I thought you would

Is it true – that you still choose me too?

 

All of these scars across my heart

Writing the lines of who I am

Trying to stand, I will restart

I want to be worthy if I can

And I will devote all of my energy

Trying to be a better me for you

Because you choose me too.

 

Yeah it’s true…somehow you choose me too.

 

 

With apologies to Brandi Carlile, whose awesome song ‘The Story‘, I most definitely cribbed.

 

50 comments on “You choose me too

  1. amycake76 says:

    Go as lngas you can then stop without shame.

    Like

  2. amycake76 says:

    FRIST?!?!?!?!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. valj2750 says:

    Lizzi, I processed this as lyrics to a song. I could almost hear the music playing. It’s a hit.

    Like

  4. Linda Kay says:

    A good post ofr this Gloomy Saturday morning. Lifts me up!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love it. I thought it sounded like a song, too. Glad to see I was right. And, I’m glad to have been chosen. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. TheMomCafe.com says:

    and it’s not a one way choosing… the ones who chose you, were also chosen BY you. You have a worth that is overflowing with gifts we choosers see and love. So we thank YOU for choosing us, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I know you see these things when I don’t, Kitty, but I’m so, so thankful that you chose me, and continue to. SOMETIMES I think I nearly understand why. I’m learning. I’ll keep trying πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • TheMomCafe.com says:

        MWUAH!!! I love that you keep trying and you ARE ‘nearly understanding why’… you are such a beautiful honest real radiant loving giving generous precious woman. I see and hold it all as worthy.

        Liked by 1 person

        • lrconsiderer says:

          I can go with honest and generous. Those two I can own. The others feel like they couldn’t belong to me, though arguably some are ‘in the eye of the beholder’, so perhaps I should just be thankful that you’re choosing to see such wonderful things πŸ™‚ I do adore you πŸ™‚

          Like

  7. qwietpleez says:

    I always wanted to say I was *the chosen one* 😜 Your words, beautiful as always, just like you, sweet one . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lisa says:

    Just beautiful, Lizzi!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Of course I do! Who wouldn’t?? You’re amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is lovely, Lizzi. How lucky we are to know you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Which of us is deserving of the friendship we share? That’s not the point. The beauty in me recognized the beauty in you, though neither of us could see our own.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Samara says:

    What Helena said is perfect.
    I do feel lucky to be your friend. You probably don’t get that, but you have always gone above and beyond as a friend to me. And when I say “the long haul” I mean it. I’m in.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Kristi Campbell - findingninee says:

    I’m glad you chose me, too. ❀ Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Sandy Ramsey says:

    I do indeed choose you. Just the way you are. Crazy nose stud and all πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Cindy says:

    Beautiful!!! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

