#NaPoWriMo Sappho you total bitch

Sappho the total bitch poet

 

So long as I’ve to try my hand at this, I

Think I would prefer it not to be so long

I try to bend this rhythm to my grist by

*Counting on fingers*

 

What goddess thought this would be something fun, whose

Bright idea now tears my brain and makes it come

Undone? And ponder which words can I choose, oh

JUST WHY, SAPPHO, WHY?!

 

She shines from his’try’s depths like hidden gem. So

Valued she’ll destroy the lives of men, who try

In poet’s guise to replicate her style, though

IT MIGHT JUST KILL THEM!

 

And yet she is a classic of her time – great

Scholars, find her ways with words exquis’t; sublime

But I in twist of callous burdened fate must

Somehow finish this.

 

00NaPoWriMo15

So today’s prompt was to write a poem in Sapphic stanza, which is some kind of bizarre kickback from a Greek goddess, who SURELY must have had better things to do (she lived on Lesbos, nuff said) than invent weird-ass poetry formats, BUT NO! No.

For your delight, and to perplex and befuddle all the NaPoWriMo triers, there is this confoundingly difficult pattern of three lines of eleven syllables, with alternating emphasis between lines (da-DA da-DA da-DA whatever to eleven, followed by a line of DA-da DA-da DA-da and so forth then back to the original emphasis for the final line of eleven) then a line with five syllables and at that point WHO CARES where the emphasis goes!?!

THEE TOUGHEST STUPIDEST POEM YET!

Bah!

14 comments on “#NaPoWriMo Sappho you total bitch

  1. Hahahahahaha! Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Serins says:

    F… Brilliant poetry. you will make it until the end. Your poetry rocks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know how learned I am in this case. I don’t know much about sapphic poetry, and even less about lesbians. But I know what I like and I like this poem

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      LOL I don’t know owt about it either, except what I read on the prompt for NaPoWriMo, but I consider you a bit of an authority on poetry, and I’m glad you like this. Thank you 🙂

      Like

  4. amycake76 says:

    But you DID it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I did, but I buggered up the (stupid, ridiculously difficult, impossible) metre, which was DIFFERENT than what I described. I’m grouching and calling it deliberate poetic licence…

      Like

  5. C says:

    Lovely lyricism — kudos to you for taking on the prompt. I didn’t even feign!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ivywalker says:

    Sapho IS a bitch. Stupid beat…hard to follow….you cant even fuckin dance to it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cindy says:

    This is the best!! Fun and full of irritation, a nice balance me thinks! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

