#NaPoWriMo How Aubade This?

 

Abaude

 

In muted, pre-dawn greys

On one leg, wobbling to get into my socks

Striving for silence, hoping sleep will remain

For in spite of continued closeness

So much has changed

And now I turn

Hide in shadows (just in case –

In case WHAT? It’s not

Like you’ve never seen it before

Or a hundred times, and yet

That you see more, now we’re

No – we’re not estranged

But things ARE different now)

Clothes going on, readied

For the day to begin

Just as I don the last thing

The Earth tips his hat

And the Sun slides over the brim

Sending warmth between the blinds

Encasing me in dazzling light

“Alright? Did you sleep well?”

Cribbing lines from our former lives

We run the morning ritual

Once more

Before

I leave.

 

And sadness shines tracks

Upon our cheeks.

 

 

00NaPoWriMo15

 

The prompt today sounded technical but wasn’t – ‘Write an aubade’ – well I dunno ‘aubade’ that, but I know I can write something passable on sunrise/daybreak, which is all the technical name boils down to. No counting lines or syllables or rhythm; just a pretty awesome subject to work with.

Done!

16 comments on “#NaPoWriMo How Aubade This?

  1. I love following all of you doing these poems, everyone has such a different take on things.. All beautifully written. I love them all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Lizzi,

    I love you. That is all.

    Jess

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ivywalker says:

    sadly lovely…. sigh. Very lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. amycake76 says:

    I really, really quite love this.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cindy says:

    Lizzi, that is I think this my favourite of yours thus far in this NaPoWriMo (of course I have loved all of yours so far).

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Really? Wow! Thank you. I have to say, sometimes poetry really, really surprises me, and the things I think are only so-so turn out to be favourites for others. I *like* this one, but I think my favourite so far has been the ‘Sky full of stars’ one 🙂

      Like

  6. Byron Hamel says:

    I just adore your poetry. I really do.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

