#NaPoWriMo Not Naming Names

Questionable love

 

I’ve tried to start this thing three times

And every time, it seems I

Fail; for living life between the lines

Still not free to simply speak my

Mind, and if you minded, would

It matter? For these words are

Only words and really should

Not be confused with something far

Beyond the realms I write

They’re simply what I feel.

 

 

00NaPoWriMo15

 

Today’s prompt was to write a poem about love, without using the word ‘love’ at all. I fell asleep thrice whilst writing this, and HATED it but published anyway, without giving it a title (because it didn’t deserve one). Upon waking I found that it appeared to have spoken strongly to a few readers, and was surprised…so I read it again. I still didn’t like it, but I hated it less, so I gave it a title and an image of its own, in recognition that with poetry, there’s just no knowing, sometimes…

 

11 comments on “#NaPoWriMo Not Naming Names

  1. Rod E. Kok says:

    I love all your work, but this one really is special. Great work, my friend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Wow….really? Cos I fell asleep whilst writing it, and kept waking up with something crappy and half-done and in the end I wrote this, angrily, and gave up, not loving it AT ALL! Having woken up after sleeping, in review, it’s not bad, and maybe does deserve a title, but I STILL don’t particularly warm to it, but I guess that’s the nature of poetry!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cindy says:

    Beautiful!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very nice, Lizzi. One of my favorites so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      REALLY?! I was literally falling asleep whilst writing it, and having started thrice, gotten a verse in and then hated it, I just wrote this in a fit of sleepy pique and then published. BLECH. I don’t *hate* hate it, but I feel very little towards it. STILL – that’s the awesome thing about poetry – we all love different things, and I’m glad you like this. Thank you πŸ™‚

      Like

      • That’s EXACTLY how I feel about mine! Wrote it late, couldn’t find precise enough words to say what I was thinking because I was too damn tired to think clearly. Plus, I had to clean and organize half of my garage yesterday and then get in some yard work before the rain came. I was NOT feeling love at that point.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. ivywalker says:

    “REALLY?! I was literally falling asleep whilst writing it, and having started thrice, gotten a verse in and then hated it, I just wrote this in a fit of sleepy pique and then published. BLECH”
    2015 Lizzi the clueless poet
    snork!

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

