#NaPoWriMo The Soul Seeks Her Own Society

Heart
The Soul, where’er her house, and whatever for
Selects her own society then shuts the door

To her divine majority present no more of
Herself, and gathers around those souls she’s sure of

Unmoved by pleas, aloof she’ll contemplate
She notes the chariots pausing at her gate

Unmoved and readied for the consequences that,
Though Emperors bow and kneel upon her mat

She will. not. have. Forsooth the Soul shall deign
To, only where the hearts are matched, remain

I’ve known her from an ample nation choose just One
Then close the valves of her attention like stone

What crowd could e’er replace the love now known;
To look into that One’s eyes and be home?

 

00NaPoWriMo15

The prompt for today was to take one of Emily Dickinson’s poems and re-work it into something our own. We were meant to find a poem of hers we’d never read before, which was easy for me because I’m not sure I’ve EVER read anything of hers before. Even though I know she’s, like, Tha Hot Shit of American Poetry. Whatevs. I’m English.

BUT I did really enjoy this challenge and in looking through a bunch of her poems to choose one to alter, I found lots that I liked and many which spoke to me, so yeah…there’s a reason she’s Tha Hot Shit of American Poetry, and I recommend her to you.

The piece I used is called ‘The Soul Selects Her Own Society’ and can be found here in its original form.

10 comments on “#NaPoWriMo The Soul Seeks Her Own Society

  1. Joe says:

    I heard the door buzz – when I cried
    The Stillness in the living Room
    Was like the Stillness in the kitchen
    Between the Heaves of the dishwasher

    The hands around – had been wrung white
    And Breaths were held firm
    For that last Onset – when the thing
    Be knocking – outside the Room

    I willed my companions quiet – shushed away
    What portion of me be
    noiseable – and then it was
    There interposed a cry –

    With Blue – uncertain – stumbling knock –
    Between the door – and me –
    And then the lock failed – and then
    I could not bear to see –

    David Cameron asking for votes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. valj2750 says:

    Last time I read Emily Dickinson was in high school. Lots of years ago. I always felt her darkness and obscurity. You are a warrior of poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Heheh I don’t know about that, but I’m having a whole lot of fun with it. She really WAS quite dark, wasn’t she? Lots of angsty stuff there 🙂 Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  3. mamadayz says:

    Never read her poetry before but some of yours I was nodding, like “This is how I behave when I can’t deal with people face to face!”
    I know that is not the subject is about but it was my original emotion and thought. Great job.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Thank you very much indeed 🙂 I’d wondered what it was that you had read and enjoyed 🙂 This piece in particular, I felt was about the discernment of choosing people with whom your heart resonates, rather than just gathering huge numbers of people about you…quality, not quantity, I suppose 🙂

      Like

  4. ivywalker says:

    I love Emily. I used to live in her home town. Her home was lovely. Her grave is saddly there as well . This is totally recognizable as something akin to her writing. Lovely stuff that and this.

    Like

  5. amycake76 says:

    Oh, I love Emily. But some of this language still reeks (in a good way) of Shakespeare. Love the combo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I think lots of it does – no-one really talks like that, do they? I mean, I know I wax lyrical on poems but I do at least try to use conventional language structure. I think. Mostly.

      Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Well?

