#NaPoWriMo Starting to show poetry quite iambic

Heart

At last uncast, that cherished tome, my fears were quite unfounded

Iconoclast, I offer stone, and keep with friends surrounded

Why tarry more – to tend your fear, that rules be torn apart?

‘Forevermore’ that phrase so dear, could quench a beating heart.

No freedom this, but shocking shame: beginning of the end

Conducted thus, in spite of name, without intent to rend.

So we decided, at great length, to face the path we chose

Conserving our remaining strength: no more could we oppose

The force – the might of circumstance -there’s no way to deny

We never had a fighting chance – there’s no one reason why

From start wer’t doomed, regrettably: the circumstances just

Did us in, but hopefully soon we’ll thrive; we’ll live…we must!

00NaPoWriMo15

Today’s prompt was to write a ‘Fourteener’ – a poem with as many lines as I liked

but each line in possession of 14 syllables and iambic pentameter

(this last section, clearly, not part of that)

12 comments on “#NaPoWriMo Starting to show poetry quite iambic

  1. Wow Lizzi! That was good!
    And it doesn’t look like it was all that hard, though in truth I know EXACTly how hard it was. And ACK!!! I can’t believe I actually did it. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Huzzah for US, because yes – this one seriously WAS a bit of a monster to write. Not the most challenging structured poem I’ve ever attempted, but it certainly took a while to get into the rhythm of it! Thank youuuu 🙂 I’m glad you like it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. amycake76 says:

    I am so impressed with you, my Shakespearean friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Thank you so much! This was actually a fun one to write, and it took a LOT of concentration to manage the rhyme and the rhythm, and I kept having to count on my fingers or make tweaks as I went along, but I’m definitely happy with the result 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • amycake76 says:

        You should be! Reminds me of high school when I first learned about ip. I would count syllables as we read R and J. At least when I wasn’t reading the part of Benvolio.

        Liked by 1 person

        • lrconsiderer says:

          We had to do R&J in school, too. It wasn’t my favourite. My favourite then, now and forever, is The Dream. The movie version of it is AMAZING and made me fall quite in love.

          Like

  3. valj2750 says:

    daDA, daDA, daDa, daDA, daDA I had forgotten exactly what iambic pentameter was so I looked it up again. The words themelves have the rhythm which will help me not forget the meaning. Nice, Lizzi.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. fangboner1 says:

    I would totally be writing and clapping! Lol. Very well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cindy says:

    Oh wow, that was awesomesauce! You did fabulous. You owned it!! Good work, Lizzi!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

