A monsterous little tantrum

A Monsterous Little Tantrum

I saw you write your loss, my dear

As though pixels, ink, or words themselves

Would ever be sufficient to contain, convey or confine

The feelings running so deep and guilty within you.

You somehow appear to assume full blame

For rippling worlds and waves which capsize

Yet you can make all the waves you want;

Until someone waves back, and takes their part

Then surely no destruction could be wrought

And without intent, just mutual enjoyment

Then no malice given, just accident

SURELY two people, with full appraisal

And consent, might see fit to fly

Imaginations bound in wonder, words reaching high

Finding ways to reveal the worlds

Or presents, pasts or futures or parallels

Without sanction or judgement

From another, wholly unconnected

With what it meant to write poetry.

For when you find someone

Who makes your words flow easily

Who gets your stanzas unconfused

Who causes your mind to think in rhyme

You know they are, in ways, your muse

And given sufficient time

Such wonderful things could be created

And yet here you are

You, your muse

Truncated.

*   *   *

Yet even as I write

It strikes me

I shall never know the whole story

All I know is that you’re quickly hurt

You love so fast and so intensely

There are some for whom this categorises you

As ‘flirt’, but having seen

A little of your heart

Seems like they just don’t understand

How honourable you are

And how willing (when you make mistakes

Because they happen – to us all) you are to make amends

To fix the roughened edges; heal the breaks

And yet, to see you fall upon your sword

Berate yourself, cut ties, to satisfy

Some unknown person in another world

Who may well be insatiable

And in constant need of being filled

A black-hole for attention

Too damn altogether chilled

Or shut down frozen in their own pain

To get to know you better;

Relax and unwind –

Because to know you

Is to love you,

I find.

18 comments on “A monsterous little tantrum

  1. bigenderblogger says:

    It feels like you wrote this about me. And that is one of the things that makes you such an astounding writer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I didn’t – this one was very specific, but I LOVE the feedback that you felt like it was for you – perhaps it’s just, *just* on the cusp enough that lots of people could relate to it. Adunno 🙂

      (astounding, or astoundingly filled with dumb luck…I’ll take either)

      Like

  2. Samara says:

    Gorgeous. Every line a jewel.

    I don’t even want to know.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. hastywords says:

    I think this is definitely something many can relate too. I know I did. And I know it is brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just always assume everything is about me.
    You’ve got quite a way with words wonderful word weaver.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Not this, cherie, though I see how it could be. *hugs*

      Ohmigosh, I didn’t know I could write like this…I promise. Thank you – I’m smiling because so many people have been so touched by something I wrote; and I’m downcast and a bit heartbroken because so many people have related to this poem…

      Like

  5. zoebyrd says:

    so much of your angsty stuff (and your other stuff too actually) is highly relatable… makes everyone feel like a narcisist!!! hahhaha… just kidding but it does hit home for the majority me thinks…
    I am so behind here… I havent even seen your other new posts… I gotta get my life back in order… Trying…know I am not blowing ya off… I know you know but I gots to say it on occassion to reassure myself… you are just stuck tolerating it I guess…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Katia says:

    Agree with all the comments. I think that one of the definitions of great writing is that it resonates with so many and probably for a meriad of reasons. I can’t even. Ouch (that’s my heart talking) ❤

    Like

  7. […] #KickCancersAss,and then I wrote the whatever-it-is from yesterday. And somewhere along the way was a poem. WORDS ARE BACK! LOVING […]

    Like

Well?

