Origins: Where I’m From

Little Me

I am from endless playing in the garden, from jam-on-toast and real coal fires.

I am from a cluttered house, good cooking, walking on eggshells and staying up reading until the light disappeared and my eyes got sore.

I am from nutmeg, puddings on Sunday and climbing into the apple tree with a book to read, reaching out to eat the fruit which was growing just moments ago.

I am from late night ‘mad’ trips out in the car and anger borne out on others; from wavering uncertainty, isolation, and the travesty-idol of marriage; from David and Jackie and Lenny Blue-eyes

I am from denial, stoicism, and changing goalposts.

From your face getting stuck if the wind changed, having to clear your plate and children’s opinions not counting.

I am from on-the-surface Christianity, where things were not as they appeared, but left me with a faith I can’t quit no matter how I try.

I’m from England, through and through; from custard and gravy.

From a mother whose hugs had a thumb which never stopped smoothing,  the lack of understanding which kept us all trapped, and the rule-breaker Grandfather who told stories of ‘evacuated in the war’ and ‘being a London fireman’.

I am from baby photos on the wall, a smoky glass bird on the mantelpiece, and clocks which all chime at different times; from chalk drawings on the ground, celebration buffet lunches and stories around the Scrabble board. I am from being sung almost to sleep, and in the quiet after, listening to the ticking all through the house the murmur of voices downstairs.

 

This is based on George Ella Lyons’ poem ‘Where I’m from‘, and uses a template format. I’ve seen this format used a few times, and each struck me as so beautiful I wanted to try for myself. So I did.

 

13 comments on “Origins: Where I’m From

  1. Scott says:

    And from all that beauty and chaos came my BBFFFL. Simply lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    What a clear, true picture you write! I love this format, too. And the pictures. Sweet Lizzi.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fida says:

    I’m glad you tried the format. I tried it a few times and love it. Thanks for sharing the beautiful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. (you know what I gonna say…. but still…)
    what struck me was the ‘offering of an insight, in the form of a perspective’…. felt very familiar

    (for everyone else: what I mean is that, for me, as a Reader I was caught by the slightly wistful and yet poignant feeling of ‘a part from’… and that though she is all that is written in this poem, there is very much the view from the outside to it.*)

    * which means, I liked and/or enjoyed it

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Linda Kay says:

    And you did well. Thanks for a lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this! My daughter’s class wrote with this template in one of her classes, and it’s such a beautiful, simple way to get across so much. The pictures are great, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Thanks Lois – I have to say, it pleases me no end that children are being encouraged to engage with this kind of poetry – it creates an awesome result and at the same time, entirely unique to the individual. Thank you for liking it 🙂

      Like

Well?

