Where my head’s at

Hardwired Heart Hand

My thoughts fly to be with you

I yearn, I fret

Don’t want to miss the chance

But cannot take it yet

And so constricted, wait

Impatience gnawing inside

Anxiety building – will I want

To stand up proud, or hide?

What will it be like, to be faced

With such undeniable reality

The physical then included in the ken

Of someone who means so much to me?

To be face to face; eye to eye

To reach out our hands and lo, be skin to skin

Will it shatter expectations? Overwhelm?

Or unify? How will I take it in?

Nonetheless until that day or days arise

These oceans keep us steadfastly apart

Meantime with our eyes upon the prize

We’ll stay hardwired: heart to heart.

 

00OctPoWriMo

 

Today’s prompt was ‘hunger + another emotion’. There were some obvious ways to take that, but I didn’t like to; instead I thought about where my mind goes when I daydream, and it ends up in ‘Murica, meeting (for the first time, mostly) some of the very good friends I’ve made in this here Blogosphere. The trip is planned for next year, but there will be ups and downs until then, and a year full of nerves to get good and anxious about doing it For Real, and standing face to face with people I know largely by their heart and character.

48 comments on “Where my head’s at

  1. Yay!!!! Just don’t wear bright colors or garishly patterned clothing. 😉
    Loved the poem. It is really good!

    Like

  2. zoe says:

    You’ll still say funny things like “bugger ” and “arse” right?

    Like

  3. Rod E. Kok says:

    Love the poem! And let what happens happen! What part of Britain are your from?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Christine says:

    Well done! Meeting people you’ve only known online can be nerve-wracking, but when it goes well it’s so wonderful.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Linda Kay says:

    It is fun to try to imagine what each of my blogger friends really looks like, talks like, etc. Lovely

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      See, the great thing is, with vidchat, I already know what most of mine talk/look/gesture like. WhatsApp helps with this, too…but the ‘in person’ bit…that’s going to be amazing and awesome and terrifying 🙂

      Like

  6. Mandi says:

    I cannot wait to squeeze you and let you squeeze my back.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. shilyot says:

    I can empathise. My lost love is 1000s of miles away. My true love is here with me: his voice in my ears, his love in my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. marisab04 says:

    no matter what i am sure it will be amazing for you – wonderful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was going to say it sounds like you are finally going to meet a good blogging friend. Sounds like I was right for once. No napping today by psyche can’t handle it!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Michelle says:

    Dear god, I just adore you…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. bethteliho says:

    It. Will. Be. Amazing.

    My awkwardness will entwine with your adorkableness and beam into the sky like a lighthouse until all we’re doing is laughing. I can picture it. hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Scott says:

    I can’t wait to meet you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. This is so meaningful as it focuses on the bond. Hardwired!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. froginparis says:

    This is the perfect morning hug. AND the feeling is mutual…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Sandy Ramsey says:

    This is just gorgeous and I’m willing to bet my last dollar that things will be wonderful! Personally, I can’t wait.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sarah says:

    Looking forward to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      ME SO VERY MUCH TOO! Interestingly, I think you and I will be alright – I reckon we’ll both be prepared enough to be utterly dorky and awkward that we’ll just be fine. Added to which we have a year of planning in the meantime, so we’ll be FINE – it will be just like that. But better.

      Like

  17. Roshni says:

    awww!!! Hope we can meet!!

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

