An English Query

englsih-pronunciation-ghotisource

Why do you suppose rough and cough don’t rhyme

but bony and bologna do?

How bad off was that first poor slob

who thought breaking a leg was good luck for you?

If I thought it a slim chance that you reach your goal,

would the words fat chance escape my pie hole?

It sounds a bit dirty to use the word tittle

but it’s really just the dot on an i that is little.

Why do I find English a query,

When I should just be thankful I’m not speaking Kashmiri?

I once learned Tibetan to challenge my brain,

but stopped when I found there were only three words profane!

English has served me well enough I suppose,

Where else will I get terms like lead by the nose?

If I were Greek could I be as happy as a clam?

Or if I lived in Russia, would I still give a damn?

I’m not complaining. about the occasional misquote.

No, something bigger has done got my goat.

31 comments on “An English Query

  1. Linda Kay says:

    What a fun rhyme making fun of the English language. We do have some pretty silly phrases.

    Like

  2. shilyot says:

    Stone the crows, you’re having a laugh, you really got my goat, you pranet!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fida says:

    This was a fun poem. Language is really a blessing. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. I wanna be as happy as a clam! Never heard of it 🙂

    Like

  5. valj2750 says:

    I remember that fish/ghoti thing from HS. This is absolutely awesome. I so like the nuances and idiosyncrasies of the English language. It’s fine as frog’s hair.

    Like

  6. So.Much.Fun. !!!!
    I loved it! And Texans are known for their idioms as well. Check it out:
    http://coolslang.com/in/texan/index.php

    And, yes, I’ve heard most of them. 😉

    Like

  7. Hey, you’ve got me thinking of American Slang from the History Channel! I love it!

    Like

  8. caravalle says:

    This is great fun. Surely you’re familiar with this poem: http://grammar.about.com/od/alightersideofwriting/a/chaosverbpoem.htm

    Like

  9. Now is this what we call learning while having fun? Loved it!! 🙂

    Like

  10. Rod E. Kok says:

    This is awesome, Zoe! It reminds me of a poem I read in my high school days (so many years ago!).

    Like

  11. lrconsiderer says:

    What got your goat? And have you read the pronunciation poem? This reminds me of it. I like ‘tittle’ but I knew what it was. It makes me tittER

    Like

  12. timelesslady says:

    Clever! Loved reading this post. 🙂

    Like

Well?

