Intangible

77c5b-img_0891

You would say,

“Be here now-

In this moment.”

*

Never seeing a reason for the clutter

To distract us, or worse – hold us in place

photos,

mementos,

reminders.

*

You were always a minimalist-

Stark,

Satisfied,

Unadorned.

Yet it somehow added and enriched our lives-

*

When you were here.

*

In those moments,

I never dreamed there weren’t enough

images,

memories,

tangible treasures,

I could reach out and touch.

*

Lost-

I will never have another chance

to convince you.

And all I have to say,

is “Be here now.”

00OctPoWriMo

25 comments on “Intangible

  1. Sarah says:

    Heartbreaking, my friend. Thinking of you.

    Like

  2. robinmcmd says:

    Another incredible piece. No wonder you were so much in my thought today.

    Like

  3. Kristi Campbell - findingninee says:

    Holy crap. I so vacillate between “clearing the clutter” and the hanging onto stuff that might need to have hanging on to once the people that it reminds me of aren’t here. Even the people I don’t truly love… because reminders. Gorgeous awesome piece.

    Like

  4. Cindy says:

    Touching and beautiful with the want and the loss. Excellent poem. And sorry for the loss the poem bring. Writing is a solace. Take heart you just it justice.

    Like

  5. Touching! But it’s beautifully expressed. 🙂

    Like

  6. I know who you’re thinking of, Zoe. Take heart…he’s always here with you.

    Like

  7. Fida says:

    I love the simplicity and beauty of this poem. It’s touching. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  8. karenspillingwords says:

    Powerful. I love this one!

    Like

  9. Lisa @ The Meaning of Me says:

    Mmm…what to say but I know where this one comes from. It’s beautiful. So are your memories.

    Like

  10. Awwww this is so beautiful and touching. I loved it!

    Like

  11. lrconsiderer says:

    I hoard, because memories aren’t enough. And I’m so sorry you didn’t get that chance. Life sucks sometimes. A lot. Bigtime. Especially for this.

    Like

    • zoe says:

      I only had a few things to begin with but its funny that the more time passes the more you realize how little of the person you have outside of what’s in your head.

      Like

      • lrconsiderer says:

        I suppose what’s in your head and what’s in your heart are the important bits really, but we do tend to latch onto the physical and tangible things really MEAN something. I’m sad you have so few physical things. Keep remembering the memories though, and maintain those neural pathways.

        Like

  12. So beautiful… much too real for my shallow commentary. Yes, please… be here now. I love it!

    Like

Well?

