Thank you Mr. Milton, For The Fallacy*

Never-ever-think-outside-the-box-227x300

Inadvertant liars-

Cliché’s born of repetition,

And origins of good design.

~

As outdated

As those who repeat them.

Avoided by others “like the plague.”

~

Obsolete though they may be

Mulish and pig-headed

They “weather the storms,”

And “stand against the tests of time.”

~

Granted my unfounded criticism

“Begs a certain question,”

But “the cat has got my tongue.”

~

I am a jumble of metaphors,

Treading on thin eggs.

I pick up my scepter,

Don my jester’s cap, and dance.

~

 

 

 

*From Comus “Was I deceived? Or did a sable cloud
Turn forth her silver lining on the night?”
(i.e. every cloud has a silver lining)

 

 

13 comments on “Thank you Mr. Milton, For The Fallacy*

  1. seekingmeme says:

    “treading on thin eggs”
    I’m still giggling over that one!
    Nice poem!

    Like

  2. […] OVER AT THE BARDS FOR […]

    Like

  3. lrconsiderer says:

    I liked the ‘treading on thin eggs’

    Keep jesting, dear x

    Like

  4. “Cliche’s born of repetition” is a great line to explain conformity in society along with tons of unoriginal ideas.

    Like

  5. LauraALord says:

    Oh this is absolutely fabulous!

    Like

  6. I love this like yesterday had no tomorrow 😉

    Like

  7. Fida says:

    I love this line: I am a jumble of metaphors. Thanks.

    Like

  8. Rod E. Kok says:

    What a fun poem to read! Love it!! *added to favorites*

    Like

Well?

