An ode to the ones that won’t

Words just wont

 

It’s not that I lack the words.

I can see them in all their finery

Hear their resonance inside my skull;

Taste their lingering richness.

They are smooth as a silver fish

And have the heart of a dragon

Burning to be used.

Smouldering with a vividness

Only found in hot coals and fairytales.

Where I sit now

It is drab and cold – there is no magic in this milieu.

Raindrops are my companions,

Each falling wet on wet

Cold on cold.

In the palace of my mind

Full of grandeur and gold

These words recline on velvet cushions,

Complacently savouring the luxury of just existing.

Priceless art cannot show as much as these words.

Diamonds are not as beautiful,

Wine is not as intoxicating

Nor are iron-bound caskets so full of treasure.

I alone know their worth

For they are elusive

And will not consent to be displayed.

I alone must lament

And know their loss,

Whilst they remain smugly resplendent

Not budging.

 

00OctPoWriMo

29 comments on “An ode to the ones that won’t

  1. serins says:

    yea! This one is awesome……. I alone know their worth…… great line.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hastywords says:

    This is awesomer than awesomest

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda Kay says:

    You had some really good lines in that little poem, and I definitely understand the meaning. Darn those words for “reclining on velvet cushions.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve inspired tomorrow’s poem. Stop by stephseclecticinterests.wordpress.com and check it out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That is a resplendent review of writer’s block. I, too, despise when the words won’t budge.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Rod E. Kok says:

    Really, really nice! I once tried to write about the block, but I can only dream about being as eloquent as you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. […] Thanks to my fellow OctPoWriMo participant for the inspiration for today’s poem – https://welltemperedbards.wordpress.com/2014/10/22/an-ode-to-the-ones-that-wont/ […]

    Liked by 1 person

  8. They are smooth as a silver fish

    And have the heart of a dragon

    Burning to be used.

    Smouldering with a vividness

    Only found in hot coals and fairytales.

    LOVE!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a perfect depiction of what writer’s block is to me. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lisa says:

    This was really beautiful, Lizzie. I related to this very much. 🙂 ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

