(I think I left my) Fingerprints On Your Heart

Fingerprints On Your Heart

 

I have to say, I wanted this

I tried to make it so

I used my mind the best I could

And did my best to show

 

How much you’ve come to mean to me

I’m telling you the truth

And tho I’m bad at saying it loud

I hope that there’s some proof

 

Cos when you say that you care too

It kinda blows my mind

Cos friendship of this sort is one

I never thought I’d find

 

But I kindasorta love you

Every *twinklysparkly* part

And if you look, I think I left

My fingerprints on your heart.

 

 

00OctPoWriMo

 

43 comments on “(I think I left my) Fingerprints On Your Heart

  1. That is SO sweet. Good, good, very good, and my dentist thanks you, darling.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You left them on mine, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sourgirlohio says:

    I love the last part. it’s kindasorta adorable:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Scott says:

    Awwww…love this one, Lizzi! You leave fingerprints all over the place and it’s uhmazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. qwietpleez says:

    Precious words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awww…this is sweet. Love it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rod E. Kok says:

    Love it! Very sweet and romantic, and yet your use of ‘kindasorta’ really adds a playful element! Very well done!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Heheh it’s not romantic, is it? It wasn’t meant to be 😀 Ah well. I’m glad you like it. The ‘kindasorta’ is a bit bashful – I’m not so good at saying when I care. Thanks for liking it 🙂

      Like

  8. *twinklysparkly*..Oh..That’s sweet! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Awww….I loved this! I haven’t had much time to read anything and this jumped out at me. I love the joy in your words and love how they filled me with a little joy of my own. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Awwwh I’m glad this one did, then – it’s a sweet little one, and I was feeling all soppy and warm and loving when I wrote it 🙂 I remember very strongly a passage from a book I read as a kid, (a sad one, as it happens) in which a boy dies, and his mum had the task of washing his grubby fingerprints off the cupboards for the last time, and it really, *really* got to me…and that kind of supplied the inspiration for this.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. bethteliho says:

    *melts*
    sweetest. poem. ever.
    I’m printing this one. xoxoxo
    (would you believe I got misty by the end of it? gah…you made me gushy)

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sarah says:

    Awww, same back atcha.
    Do you know “The Yellow Rose of Texas”? It is said by some that all Emily Dickinson’s poems can be sung to the tune. My father clarifies that it’s really that her poems are set to the same meter as old hymns. Either way, I started in to singing this poem to TYROT early in. It works.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Nope, and I’d be hard-pushed to tell you an Emily Dickinson poem, either. I am shockingly uncultured when it comes to poets. But I found the song on Youtube and I’m trying to listen to it. It’s a bit bouncy but I think I found a military version…it’s got drums and jumpiness…it’s kinda fun and sounds a bit like a parade. This poem doesn’t go to *this* version.

      The old hymn-writers were clever 🙂

      Like

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Okay – with a different version, yes – Iseeya 🙂

      Like

  12. serins says:

    🙂 This is preciously beautiful…. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  13. So sweet. Especially since I just got home from meeting two good friends for coffee

    Like

  14. Michelle says:

    Awww…how lovely. This makes me happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. zoe says:

    love that last rhymie bit…soooooooo sweeeeeet!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. valj2750 says:

    As long as you didn’t leave your fingerprints around my throat. Love the twinkly/sparkly twirly/glittery part.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

