Mud Run

Gonna Mud Run Again

Standing round

For the start

Chilly arms

Nervous heart

Camoflage

Fingers in

Painty face

Silly grin

Getting ready

Warm up

Jump! Quickly!

Hup! Hup!

Crowd gathers

Buzzy noise

Bunching up

Girls and boys

“On your marks”

Time to show

Best form

“Set, GO!”

Horn blares

Through the arch

Off we go

Quick march

Muddy puddles

Going round

Sticking to

Higher ground

Jog, jog

Dainty feet

Round the swamps

Keeping clean

Suddenly

Faced with bog

Jump in

Whole hog

Unworried

Warmed up

Still fun

Keeping up

Hill and marshland

Over stream

Through a forest

Still green

Through the heather

Over heath

Heads up!

Duck underneath

Jumping over

Why the queue?

River there!

Straight through.

Water washes

Muddy legs

Scramble up

Grab the edge

Jog jog

Keep going

How far?

Signs showing

Half way

Getting tired

Swamp here

Slowly mired

Chat to others

All in fun

Passing time

Carry on

Splash, splash

Through a lake

Then a swamp

Goodness sake!

Stumble over

Fallen tree

Leg in swamp

Wrenched knee

Keep going

Through the pain

Not stopping

No shame!

Run, run!

Easing off

Hip twangs

Lungs cough

Keep plodding

Find the groove

Don’t stop

Gotta move

Up and down

Long stride

Eating miles

Good try

Downhill

Over dunes

Is it gonna

End soon?

Passing others

Feeling brave

WATCH OUT!

Close shave!

Another lake

Big hill

We’re not

Done still

Sign showing

Near the end

Keep going

More bends

Long ditches

Wade through

Follow markers

Pointing true

Photographer

On his knees

Tripping over

“Smile please!”

Slog, slog

Carry on

Where have all the

Others gone?

Runners sparse

Around the bend

Look ahead

SEE THE END

Hear the cheering

Heart leaps

Final push

Dig deep

Sprint finish

What a day!

Mud run

10k.

00OctPoWriMo

Last weekend I did my first mud run – 10k through army training ground, and ALL THE MUD

(and pretty much every other difficult terrain)

I finished in 1 hour 20 minutes

30/112 women

230/425 overall

BOOM!

36 comments on “Mud Run

  1. zoebyrd says:

    I want muddied photos! Congrats on completing…. did you really wrench your knee? Or was that just for a rhyme???

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Heheh you should get on FB. Naaaah I will email you pics. I totally wrenched it – I put my foot down to try to leap over a tree stump and instead, my foot sank into a swamp and the rest of me went forwards over the tree stump and my knee (and lower leg) stayed behind. It was VERY sore.

      Like

  2. Linda Kay says:

    Oh, Ouch! So sorry you hurt your knee. You might have really pulled something out of shape. But good for you for giving it a try!

    Like

  3. Hoo Rah! Nice going on the mid run. Hope you heal up soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is so awesome!!!! I just did my first ever 5k in April, the Color Run, and it was hard for me because I had never done it before. Then, I did it again in June with my best friend though we didn’t run-so many freaking people it was too hard to move, much less jog.
    Love the poem…I identified with everything but the mud and the 10k…but I have a very good imagination. LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I’ve never done a colour run yet, but they look like SO much fun – I think I’m going to have to give one a go at some point 😀 They look brilliant.

      I’m glad you had such fun with it – and running these things is always easier with friends 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sarah says:

    Yay, Lizzi! Love the cadence!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Thank you 🙂 I’ve done one like this before (not here) about a place called Bedruthen Steps, where there are something like 188 steps to get down a cliff and onto the beach…so of course, my poem has a line for each step 😀

      Like

  6. Rod E. Kok says:

    Love the poem! Respect for the 10k mud run!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s as if I ran there with you – no, impossible, no breath – it’s as if I ran with you in your head. What a great description (content) in great shape (the outward form of the poem, the style of the lines) and with convincing rhymes too. It’s a 10k poem as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. christine says:

    Awesome poem. Very Dr. Suessy with the way it flowed, which is perfect for a poem about a mud run. Go you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cathy says:

    Excellent! Good for you. I know in my MS community mud runs are huge and they also raise a lot of money. So for whatever reason you did it, you go, girl!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      This one was just for fun. I feel very uncomfortable touting for sponsorship, which is why I’ve been ‘selling’ my writing in exchange for donations to people’s favourite cancer charities. 🙂

      Like

  10. jasteck says:

    You are so brave and inspirational. Whoever decided to add mud to a run was a genus. What fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS!!!!!! YOU GO LIZZI!!!! And on just a few short hours of sleep?! You amaze me babe. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This one makes me feel as though I’m with you there!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sandy Ramsey says:

    You are amazing! A 10K is no joke. I’m so proud of you. The poem is quite clever as well and you did a great job making it so visual. Wish I could have been there to see you cross that finish line!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      I had a HUGE grin on my face, and was covered head to toe in mud and sweat and camo-paint, and I was limping from the rapidly developing bruise where I trapped my leg in the swamp under a tree, and I was absolutely exhausted and covered in victory 🙂 It was WONDERFUL.

      And thanks 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Michelle says:

    YOU AMAZING WARRIOR!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. […] busy RUNNING BRUTAL 10 (did I tell you, I came 230th overall, and 30th out of the women – AND I got a poem out of it – it was THEE MOST FABULOUS MUDDY FUN EVER!) I didn’t have time to change it. So Husby […]

    Like

  16. serins says:

    Congrats on your run, …. this is really something to be proud of. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

