Bleeding Out

It strikes me as I write this that limericks are not made for serious topics … but what the hell there is always a first time.

 

My inner critic has fallen to depression,

And with it comes humor’s repression-

Life can feel so contrived

as I try to survive

Since her demise has engendered aggression.

 

My mood had turned bad and bled out

In a gushing display of self doubt,

I indulged it a while,

But it’s just not my style

I needed to stop freakin’ out!

 

So I gathered myself up and ran,

despite that I ache, like a battered old man.

I was running nowhere

And once I got there

Found I  ended up where I began.

 

“Well, that didn’t work” I declared

“Apparently I’m quite unprepared

For a shift in my mood,”

And I continued to brood

When my inner critic’s temperament flaired.

 

“Get over yourself already!

You’re ridiculously bummed and unsteady!

You have to snap out

Or you’re going to burn out!

If you think it’s bad now, just get ready!”

 

Though appearing quite bad it gets worse,

When you choose to stay so obverse.

Without confronting the truth

The uncomfortable sooth

Becomes still more real, but perverse.

 

So now I  ready myself for the fight.

I expect a sleepless and tiresome night,

while I confront life’s despair

and attempt to loosen the snare

that has snagged me in this miserable plight.

 

 

 

 

 

21 comments on “Bleeding Out

  1. lrconsiderer says:

    I hope you won’t think that I’m rude
    (In spite of your very bad mood
    which I wish I could change
    and your fates rearrange)
    When I say that this poem’s DAMN GOOD!

    Like

  2. LauraALord says:

    I love that you used a limerick for darker emotions. Fabulous!

    Like

  3. Fida I says:

    I love this p!

    Like

  4. Who says limericks HAVE to be jovial? The point is the feel and intent and yours is spot on!

    Like

  5. Lisa @ The Meaning of Me says:

    Well that was definitely a different way to rhyme a limerick. I dunno, Zoe, I think it works – something about the rhythm feels angry here rather than the usual lightness of a limerick and it works.

    Like

  6. ~ Sadie ~ says:

    That was AWESOME!! So well written!
    I am “Bleeding Out” too – you are telling my story like you are in my head 🙂
    Great job with the limerick, too!

    Like

Well?

