What life is this?

Three Careful Stones Atop My Heart

“Tell me,

What is it you plan to do

With your one wild and precious life?”

Struck amidships

I falter anew

Uncertain how to answer,

Or even fathom how to satisfy

The whimsy query of a poet

Passing by

Yet stranding in my mind

A sense of wonderment

Of reflection;

Of chilly thoughts;

Of time spent

Wasted.

Yet as I mull, I find

Amongst the sullied flotsam of my mind

Somewhere ‘twixt myself

And deep blue sea

(Where threaten sneaker waves;

Each sent to flounder me)

A staunch and solid line:

A sea defense of friends,

Outlined in sunshine’s glory.

More precious are they

Than any gems or treasure

To be found upon this wastrel beach

Glittered so bright in memory

And there with each

A drop

Of understanding.

For no matter how barren the view

How fierce the storm

Or how harsh the seabird’s voice

They came,

They saw,

They cared;

They stayed by choice.

And whene’er I hear the call

Of howling sea

Mocking; accusing; inviting me

To step forevermore into its depths

To embrace the quiet –

The peace beyond all breaths –

I find I cannot move

For each and every one

Has placed threeΒ  careful stones

Atop my heart.

I do not wish them gone

And so

Will not

Depart.

00OctPoWriMo

Today I used the prompt – a quote by Mary Oliver (the opening lines of my poem),

and the inspiration of a legend I heard long ago;

of those who go hunting for washed-up treasures on the beach,

which might (to some) seem worthless, but which are nonetheless claimed

Β by placing three stones

on top of them.

16 comments on “What life is this?

  1. Linda Kay says:

    Very nice use of words to describe the sea and the environment. I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the beach theme! And the stones atop the heart that keep you anchored instead of washing away…friends have a habit of doing that, don’t they? I love how you translated the quote.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. zoebyrd says:

    I think this is my favorite of what you’ve written. I love how you built in so many of the inspirations you explain at the end… I love this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tamara Woods says:

    We both talked about the ocean. I only briefly touched it. You had an entire dance with the ocean. Loved to watch it unfold.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sandy Ramsey says:

    You and your love affair with the sea. This is really beautiful, Lizzi. It says so many things and it makes me know that YOU know how protected and cared for you are.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fabulousness on so many levels. I’m glad the prompt – and the gloriousness of Mary Oliver, inspired such words. Have you read much of her work? She is phenomenal. So blessed to “know” her. I am going to the ocean this weekend. I need its restorative power. I think I’ll print your poem and sit with it, meditate upon it, collect shells and memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lrconsiderer says:

      Ohhhhh YES! Collect shells, make memories, read poetry and most of all, BREATHE – that wonderful soul-breath where you and the ocean are in time, and you can feel the whole earth just *being*…

      Have a marvellous time.

      I’m so glad you liked this, and no – I’ve never read Mary Oliver before πŸ˜€

      Like

  7. I liked this one alot. I’m a sucker for legends.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

