A Sunday Repost

c509e5af691713286488d46add263017.600x450x1source

Bardic Diving

I always knew I was never much of a poet.
I couldn’t even bring myself to rhyme that line.
Abstraction is often lost on me,
Unless it’s my own.

Preoccupied by daydreams is never my state of mind.
Rather most find my feet set firmly in concrete paradigms,
I could go under out here, and never be discovered.
Yet I venture in.
Thrown into the drink.
Drowning in an ocean of vagaries-
Wading through a sea of analogies, juxtapositions and symbolism-
Fins to replace the cement overshoes I’ve worn all these years.

If I lose you in my literary wake, please forgive me.
I’m just now learning to swim.

 

tom__47299                                                                                                                                       

The reverberation wanes.

Focus.

The temple bell sounds again.

Focus.

Fading vibrations.

Focus.

Rise from the lotus.

Focus.

Walk into your life.

Focus.

Live in this moment.

Focus.

Coexist.

Focus.

Meet the challenges.

Focus.

Focus?

Strive to accept.

00OctPoWriMo

18 comments on “A Sunday Repost

  1. lrconsiderer says:

    Always easier said than done, innit? I like this, though. You did well. You also stole the thoughts from my head. I’ll work on something different tomorrow 🙂

    Like

  2. I believe that you have done amazingly well with your dabble into the depths of poetic writing. I am duly impressed! And the second piece concludes with theme I just commented on at Rewritten, acceptance. I feel like there is a neon sign flashing in my brain, noting the lesson here, one I stuggle against so often. Stop fighting what cannot be changed… accept peace. Thank you, Zoe!

    Like

  3. “synchronized clarks thing”

    Yes it is Zoe:) I really liked this poem because, as a clark, I so relate! And no surprise Lizzie accusing you of stealing the thoughts out of her head lol

    I find reading poetry, that if I like something, I’m gonna know pretty darn quick. I read the words the first time. Then I go back, take longer and let it all sink in. There is much to absorb.

    Like

  4. Sarah says:

    Hmmm…I am an unrepentant daydreamer, always have been. Always in trouble for it in school. But daydream life is just more fun. Last year, Maggie’s teachers approached us with concerns about her daydreaming–how they’d call her name, and she wouldn’t answer. And I laughed. And Brian rolled his eyes. It drives him crazy when I don’t answer; but I don’t hear.
    Anyhow, off that tangent. I don’t think I’m much of a poet either. I like others’ poetry, but I don’t feel I have the knack for words (which is why I stick with the short, strict syllable kinds). I admire you for keeping at it even when you feel you’re lousy. I don’t think you’re lousy; I think you’re actually very talented.
    But I often feel that you and I think in similar ways.

    Like

    • zoebyrd says:

      Re that last statement…I think you are correct madam! Thank you for thinking me talented… apparently you and I are both unable to recognize a hack… but hey … who cares?

      Like

  5. these is very nicely composed–both of them!

    Sincerely,
    Aishah
    http://chaosincouture.blogspot.com

    Like

  6. Cindy says:

    It’s truth and in truth the words do flow. Excellent work. 🙂

    Like

  7. LauraALord says:

    “Rather most find my feet set firmly in concrete paradigms,” I lovelovelove this line. It’s one of those ones you read and immediately think, “Damn, I wish I wrote that.” So well done.

    Like

Well?

