I wish…

Wishing on an Eyelash

It felt like you beckoned me

Closer, to whisper

To tell me the secret

I needed for life

I stumbled, unknowing

So eager to hear you

To learn what was missing

And make it come right.

You smiled as you told me

Your lips barely moving

The light in your eyes

Was a sparkle of fun

“You take on your finger

An eyelash you lost, and

You blow it away then

You get to make one

Quite secret, quite special

Quite perfectly lovely

Quite brim-full of wonder

Quite glorious wish.

Then if you work hard

And wait and keep hoping

One day it might maybe

Come kinda true-ish.

 

00OctPoWriMo

 

For Mandi, who taught me that wishing on an eyelash was a ‘thing’.

 

 

16 comments on “I wish…

  1. zoebyrd says:

    Really. ..is it not a thing in UK?
    Wishing wells. ..wish bones…falling stars?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zoebyrd says:

    Does Mandi do ” fingers or thumbs” or just make a wish?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a sweet and beautiful thought that is, and one I shall remember! I love the way you wrote it softly, Lizzi, tone matching tale perfectly!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mandi says:

    Well, I love you even more today. ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I had made lots of wishes with my eyes closed while blowing it off..beautiful!:)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fida says:

    This was a fun, sweet bit! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I didn’t know you were supposed to wish on eye lashes.

    Liked by 1 person

Well?

